Forum

Full Version: h264 visual problems
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello all,

I am not quite sure I put my thread in the right category, so please feel free to move it.

The problem I have spotted seems only to come when I play video files with the h264 encoding. The colours get stuck on the screen for e few seconds making it look like lacking pixel information. When I recode he video file with libx264 with ffmpeg, the problem stops, and the picture is crystal clear.

Any thoughts on what might cause the problem?

Best regards.
Hmm still nothing?
Oh dear - you made the fatal mistake of answering your own post. making it look like someone had answered it, and thus many users will bypass it.

If no one has answered, it's because no one knows the answer.

As it is an encoding problem, it is not an Xbian problem.

I'm not an expert in this area but if you hang on, someone might know.

You will also need to explain how you encode, what commands you use, compression details, encoder used etc etc.
(25th Sep, 2013 02:08 AM)IriDium Wrote: [ -> ]Oh dear - you made the fatal mistake of answering your own post. making it look like someone had answered it, and thus many users will bypass it.

If no one has answered, it's because no one knows the answer.

As it is an encoding problem, it is not an Xbian problem.

I'm not an expert in this area but if you hang on, someone might know.

You will also need to explain how you encode, what commands you use, compression details, encoder used etc etc.

Yea I can see your point there, guess I need to be more patient Angel

Well, the files that are encoded with h264 is not something I encode myself, but they work fine in e.g. VLC player, but not in Xbian. When i recode them, i use a simple ffmpeg command
"-vcodec libx264 -acodec copy -crf 12" then the video file works just fine. Maybe the hardware just cant decode the h264 format correctly I guess.