Forum

Full Version: mount shares from a mac (OS 10.9 Mavericks)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi there!

After upgrading my Mac Mini Server (where movies and tv-shows are hosted) i can't connect to the shares via xbmc or terminal (sudo mount -t cifs.... etc gives me error (22) or (95))

i think there might be a problem that apple kicked the old "smb" protocol from their OS and now uses SMB2 instead. is there a way to get a connection to my mac again without having some weird software installed on the mac? (samba update, alternatives, etc etc...) any help will be appreciated!

greetings, Phil.
some people reported that installing an SMBUp may help. Give it a try and see. I'm not an fruit product user so cant say a lot about Smile
i already have SMBUp but the fact that i have to use an extra program for using filesharing between two computers with OS built-in filesharing protocols gives me a headache.

this might be a temporary solution but not permanent:

what if smbup isn't stable and crashes,
what if there is a reboot of the mac and the smbup service isn't starting correctly,
there are also problems with german umlauts in the shares (they weren't a problem before...)

afp connection works without smbup but is terribly slow and the umlaut problem persists... i really don't know why have i clicked on this "upgrade" button Big Grin
I know none of those above is the real solution and the next too but any chance you use NFS instead of SMB share from your MAC ? http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=NFS
It also works better with RPi as it is much lighter than SMB
been there - tried that. don't know how to activate NFS sharing in a good way on OsX.