Forum

Full Version: New user : No write access to USB drive
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

I'm a new user, I set up my raspberry today. I'm using with it a drive I was using on a windows PC before.

I connected this drive via usb, and I'd like to access it from my windows computer through samba. But it seems I have no write access on it from windows. It's been more than 10 years since I've had a linux box, so I'm not really good with it. But I'm a programmer so I can follow instructions. A friend of mine said It might be because it's NTFS. I'm not sure if it is ntfs or something else. I checked the permissions with ls -l, and changed them too 777 with chmod to be sure it wasn't a permission problem. I have no need for security in my home setup anyway.

So, what can I do? First, how do I check if it is NTFS on the raspberry? Where can I check the filesystem of an external drive? Then, Is there any way to write stuff on a NTFS drive in XBIAN? Or maybe my problem is somewhere else? I didn't set up the share myself, is it possible to set up a read-only share?

I tried "ls >ls.txt" from SSH as a way to test if I have write access from the raspberry, but my putty seems stuck after that. I have no feedback at all anymore. I can't access the raspberry from windows anymore either. After closing the putty window, I can access my RPI again. The ls.txt file was created, but it is empty.
Please supply the information requested in "Please read before you post"

I don't think it is a filesystem issue - you can test this by writing a test file to the drive from linux. If that fails then read on.

I have a feeling that this might be a driver issue if you do a "mount" I guess your drives are shown as fuseblk which is a generic driver - so defaults to R/O for safety.

It may need a new module NTFS-3G to be installed which has R/W abilities.