Forum

Full Version: Sync root filesystem
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have a root filesystem on a USB hard drive (btrfs) and I wish to keep it synched with the root fs on my SD card so to have a fully functional and always up to date fallback root. I'm new to btrfs, but for what I understaood it is somehow similar to a normal ext3/4 filesystem with an intrinsic ability to chroot: this way you can have snapshots by copy.
If my understanding is not too far from reality, I believe I can keep the two filesystems in sync by using rsync from the USB drive current root to the SD card current root without bothering moving over the snapshots (to save space and write access to the SD card).

The idea is to cron schedule something like the following:

Code:
mount /dev/mmcblk0p1 /mnt/sd-root-fs
rsync -aAHXv --delete /* /mnt/sd-root-fs/@root --exclude={"/boot/*","/dev/*","/proc/*","/sys/*","/tmp/*","/run/*","/mnt/*","/media/*",/lost+found}
umount /mnt/sd-root-fs

Will that work? Am I completely misunderstanding btrfs?
Why not create a BTRFS mirror with the SD card and your USB stick?

In regard to your last question. You are not using BTRFS in any way in that approach.
(4th Aug, 2014 08:08 PM)CurlyMo Wrote: [ -> ]Why not create a BTRFS mirror with the SD card and your USB stick?

Can you expand on this? If btrfs mirror implies copying over the snapshots I don't think it is desiderable: a lot more write operations toward the SD, much more space used and a very little benefit considering the SD is going to be used only "on the go". If something breaks and I need to revert to a previous snapshot I'll do it on the HD and force a re-sync to ensure I have a stable OS on the HD and on the SD.
If that doesn't imply moving the snapshots then I will definitely be interested.