Forum

Full Version: R Pi 2 No Ethernet
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey, I'm fairly new to all of this. I have OpenELEC running on my PI 2, but it is a little too stripped/restricted for my taste. So I am trying out other OSes. From what I have found online, XBian looks like it can do everything I need. The only problem is I can't get ethernet to work.

Software
XBian version: 1.0 (knockout) (kernel: Linux 3.18.8+) This is the latest for the Ras Pi 2, I also tried the preceding option the installer offered: 2015.06.06
XBMC/Kodi version: Kodi 14.2 Git:Unknown (compiled May 7 2015)
Overclock settings: I think it used Pi 2 defaults origionally, but i also tried the Pi 2 overclockPresets.

Hardware
Device type and model: Pi 2
Power supply rating: OpenELEC has been running fine with 5V .7A, but when XBian wouldn't I tried 5V 2A
SD card size and make/type: ScanDisk 4GB class 2
Network (Ethernet or wireless): Ethernet but its not working
Connected devices (TV, USB, network storage, ...): HDMI TV, USB keyboad, through Powered Hub, Ethernet to router

Log files
Are there logs that would help? If so, let me know where to get them and I'll post them.

Problem description:
The ethernet will not work. I tried to use a static IP address, setting it to the IP that is reserved by MAC address for the PI, but it says "Network An unexpected error occured". The lights on the router and on the Pi's ethernet adapter are on steady. When the overclock settings are set to the Pi 2 Preset, it looked like it hung on start-up until the ethernet was unplugged. After start-up I plugged ethernet beack in, and the lights started to blink, but DHCP still wasn't working and when I tried to use a static IP it still failed, with the same message. I tried restarting. It didn't hang, but it still wouldn't connect.

How to reproduce: