Forum

Full Version: trying to install mt7610u (linksys ae6000)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
What about the module loaded?

If module is not loaded, you could try

Terminal

sudo modprobe mt7610u_sta

and see what happens
PS. to have udev rename the interface "ra0" into "wlan0" at boot, run below one and replace "a0:b1:c2:d3:e4:f5" with the MAC address of the card.
The MAC address is displayed when you run "ip link show ra0".
This works for almost any network card that you want to rename.

Code:
echo 'SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="a0:b1:c2:d3:e4:f5", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", NAME="wlan0"' | sudo tee -a /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules

sudo reboot
(15th May, 2017 06:41 AM)deHakkelaar Wrote: [ -> ]PS. to have udev rename the interface "ra0" into "wlan0" at boot, run below one and replace "a0:b1:c2Big Grin3:e4:f5" with the MAC address of the card.
The MAC address is displayed when you run "ip link show ra0".
This works for almost any network card that you want to rename.

Code:
echo 'SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="a0:b1:c2:d3:e4:f5", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", NAME="wlan0"' | sudo tee -a /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules

sudo reboot

Tried this months ago, but for this wlan device I had no success Sad
Still no luck with this dongle, I'm wondering if I could have mucked something up, setting up WiFi with one dongle and then turning it all back on later with another dongle?

Here are some information, if I can be of help?
Terminal
Distributor ID: Raspbian
Description: Raspbian GNU/Linux 8.0 (jessie)
Release: 8.0
Codename: jessie

Linux xbian 4.4.48+ #1 PREEMPT Sun Feb 12 17:39:36 CET 2017 armv6l GNU/Linux

If there is anything else you want to see please say.
I still do not know if module mt7610u_sta is loaded or not?

see this post and this post
Code:
sudo modprobe mt7610u_sta

just asks for password and goes back to "xbian@xbian ~ $"

I ran
Code:
echo 'SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="a0:b1:c2:d3:e4:f5", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", NAME="wlan0"' | sudo tee -a /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules

with a reboot and nothing happened.

Just ran
Code:
sudo lshw
and got

Terminal
*-usb:1 UNCLAIMED
description: Generic USB device
product: 802.11 n WLAN
vendor: MediaTek
physical id: 3
bus info: usb@1:1.3
version: 0.00
serial: 1.0
capabilities: usb-2.01
configuration: maxpower=160mA speed=480Mbit/s

So it does see the device but does not want to use it?
I still do not know if module mt7610u_sta is loaded or not?

Please give me output of

Terminal

sudo lsmod

after a reboot
(16th May, 2017 10:10 AM)Nachteule Wrote: [ -> ]Please give me output of

Terminal

sudo lsmod

after a reboot

Terminal


xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo lsmod
[sudo] password for xbian:
Module Size Used by
cpufreq_conservative 3550 1
zram 17994 1
zsmalloc 14883 1 zram
mt7601u 75559 0
evdev 11221 3
joydev 9032 0
mac80211 569349 1 mt7601u
ax88179_178a 14451 0
pwm_bcm2835 2787 0
bcm2835_gpiomem 2937 0
lirc_rpi 6558 3
lirc_dev 7760 1 lirc_rpi
rc_core 17824 1 lirc_dev
uio_pdrv_genirq 3274 0
uio 7549 1 uio_pdrv_genirq
fixed 2568 0
cfg80211 448094 2 mac80211,mt7601u
rfkill 15709 1 cfg80211
snd_bcm2835 19199 0
snd_pcm 74691 1 snd_bcm2835
snd_timer 20123 1 snd_pcm
snd 51053 3 snd_timer,snd_bcm2835,snd_pcm
rpcsec_gss_krb5 20973 0
uinput 7935 1
Thanks, you're confusing me Exclamation

Module mt7601u is being loaded and active, seems you do not have a mt7610u wlan usb dongle Huh

Your output of lsusb -v is quite unreadable, could you please add output of lsusb for the sake of completeness

Seems this thread is completely wrong for your issue
I had the output of lsusb noted down.

148f:7601 Ralink Technology, Corp.
(17th May, 2017 02:31 AM)TheDutypaid Wrote: [ -> ]I had the output of lsusb noted down.

148f:7601 Ralink Technology, Corp.

ExclamationExclamationExclamation Ok, so you are absolutely wrong here ExclamationExclamationExclamation

Please open new thread or continue here

Btw, a quick google session found possible reason for your issue, but I do not post it here because of wrong thread
(20th Feb, 2016 09:35 AM)greenbag Wrote: [ -> ]
(20th Feb, 2016 09:04 AM)Nachteule Wrote: [ -> ]What happens if you do a
Quote:sudo modprobe mt7610u
Btw, should not be a problem to add this driver to our kernel

It gives a fatal panic saying it can't find it. I think it's supposed to be sudo modprobe mt7610Usta, as that's what's needed for the mt7601u chip. Neither work.

I'm coming from openelec, basically because it's so damn hard to add anything to the root system unless you compile it into the entire image. Not as easy as a knoppix remaster though. And osmc's too buggy for me. So.. I came upon xbian. So far I like it.. I can install things. Tongue It also looks like it has perl, or at least I can install it. I need that for zap2xml.

You are right. I am also able to install things Wink
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
Reference URL's