So I'm trying to route xbian's traffic, through my server, via an SSH tunnel. Procedure:
- SSH using putty into Xbian
- SSH into server [ ssh -p <server-port> -D <bound-port> user@host] from within xbian terminal
- Go into Xbian GUI and change network settings under: settings>system>internet access
- Use proxy, select SOCKS5, server: "localhost", port < bound port>
- Test IP via whatsmyip on web viewer (does not show server IP)
How come it doesn't work?
Debug log here:
https://pastebin.com/siYFrzhF
(1st Oct, 2017 12:38 AM)cairnarvon Wrote: [ -> ]So I'm trying to route xbian's traffic, through my server, via an SSH tunnel. Procedure:
- SSH using putty into Xbian
- SSH into server [ ssh -p <server-port> -D <bound-port> user@host] from within xbian terminal
- Go into Xbian GUI and change network settings under: settings>system>internet access
- Use proxy, select SOCKS5, server: "localhost", port < bound port>
- Test IP via whatsmyip on web viewer (does not show server IP)
I'm neither SSH tunnel nor SOCKS expert, but your tunnel command under point 2 looks very strange
Shouldn't you use
Terminal
ssh -L [bind_address:]port:host:port user@server
for opening an SSH tunnel
(1st Oct, 2017 03:10 AM)Nachteule Wrote: [ -> ] (1st Oct, 2017 12:38 AM)cairnarvon Wrote: [ -> ]So I'm trying to route xbian's traffic, through my server, via an SSH tunnel. Procedure:
- SSH using putty into Xbian
- SSH into server [ ssh -p <server-port> -D <bound-port> user@host] from within xbian terminal
- Go into Xbian GUI and change network settings under: settings>system>internet access
- Use proxy, select SOCKS5, server: "localhost", port < bound port>
- Test IP via whatsmyip on web viewer (does not show server IP)
I'm neither SSH tunnel nor SOCKS expert, but your tunnel command under point 2 looks very strange
Shouldn't you use
Terminal
ssh -L [bind_address:]port:host:port user@server
for opening an SSH tunnel
I've tested the syntax on a Debian machine and it is correct. It seems that step 3 is where the problems are. The settings are pure window dressing and do not actually change anything, it's there as a potential future feature. If you want to use an SSH tunnel you have to configure it for a specific add-on, though I'm getting errors there too like " channel 9: open failed: connect failed: Connection refused
".