Forum

Full Version: Mysql database lost again.....
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So yesterday I was trying to play media remotely via yarc (http frontend) and whilst I could 'see' all the media in the libraries, nothing would play - no music, no films etc. Huh

Today I VNC'd into the pi and could see the kodi screen with all the libs, but the screen was frozen, even the remote mouse cursor would not move. Confused

I rebooted the pi and now all the libraries are no longer there. No music, no movies, no music videos.
If I go via the 'files' menu in kodi settings I can play anything I like, so I am guessing the issue is with mysql, but I am no db expert Undecided

This after reinstall just a few weeks back with new usb drive, new sd card and all working for a while. Rolleyes

Where do I begin to look for the culprit please?

Looking more into it - this happened on the pi that hosts the mysql db.

But....when rebooting a remote xbian client, it sees the db and plays normally.

So something has happened where the mysql pi cannot see it's libraries yet other clients connecting to it can. Hmmmm.....

After a little reading I added the line WAITFOR="mysqld" and now the libs are showing agian in the db serving pi - still not paying though, so will have to investigate that further. I hope it's not a silly thing!
Mysteriously it is all back working agian now - phew! Smile
So all you have to do is make a long post, do a dance, wait a while and cross your fingers....bam it's working Smile
(26th May, 2018 11:35 AM)f1vefour Wrote: [ -> ]So all you have to do is make a long post, do a dance, wait a while and cross your fingers....bam it's working Smile

... or - wait and drink tea Big Grin Sometimes it works
I guess 'eye of newt' and 'bats wings' are not needed for Linux then? Tongue