Forum

Full Version: Xbian stopped fully loading, supports telnet - how do I default it
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Please move this to a different forum if I've posted in the wrong area.
I've tried searching the forums - but if ive missed a solution please direct me to the link

Ive been running Xbian on a raspberry pi for a couple of months.
I did a number of addon upgrades last night.
Following reboot xbian loads the splash screen, but then leaves the blue screen without the full desktop.

It appears that Xbian is not fully loaded.
I don't see anything obvious in the boot up.

I can telnet into the unit.
Ive tried
apt-get install xbian-update followed by install.
All appeared to work.
I've also done an app update.
I assume something in my user config must be conflicting.
I can not see where my user unique settings are stored - so how i could default the install.

Ideally I'd prefer to do things from my telnet /ssh

So my question is how do I remove my user unique settings - specifically which file full path please do I remove.
Or can anyone suggest anything else to do a default - or cure my problem.

Regards Andy
What is the "the blue screen without the full desktop."

Do you mean SSH instead of telnet?

Regarding your last questions:
Code:
mv /home/xbian/.xbmc /home/xbian/.xbmc-bak
sorry yes I mean ssh
My home directory is empty no files nothing .
ls -l returns 0
any idea how that could have happened?

I assume that somehow i've lost the xbian directory i've done a mkir xbian and rebooted - hoped it would just create a .xbian

I assume .xbian is my .profile ? what should be in it?
I'm not use o vi or ed - please define everything I should type to create a .xbian

By the blue screen - what i mean is I get a splash screen which shows xbian -with the raspberrypi logo - then i have a standard default blue wall paper background - looks like outof focus rings.