Forum

Full Version: Setting Up WIFI
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am new to Linux so continually working in a bit of a fog.
Have written Xbian image to SD card and successfully started up PI and XBMC started automatically. Worked ok with internet cable but want wifi so have bought a small USB wifi thingy.
To try and connect to wifi I started up then exited XBMC and arrived at a dialogue box which allowed me to set up wifi info. After exiting the dialogue box there was something going on but got the impression all was well.
I was then left with the Xbian command line and at this point I have no idea how to restart XBMC.
Tried powering off and then restarting straight to XBMC but found no wifi connection. Not sure if it was connected first time or it does not store connection data when power lost.
I think this is a very simple problem but my lack of knowledge makes it impossible.
Any help would be welcome.
Instead of closing XBMC, go inside XBMC to System --> Settings --> XBian
Using alpha5 that is
Thanks, looked at settings in XBMC but only had Internet connection stuff eg ports, usernames etc and did not seem to correspond to WiFI stuff eg network name, security type.
For info versions
XBian 1.0a4
XBMX 12.0-RC1 GIT:20121212-afbae11 (compiled Dec 13 2012)

Alpha5 is that another version?
Yes, our latest.
Have loaded Aplpha 5 successfully but I cannot see any stuff in system settings which relate to WIFI. The internet settings is asking for Server, Username and Password whereas WIFI will usually ask for network name, security type and password.
Note I see my nana usb doggle is flashing so that is positive.
(21st Feb, 2013 07:28 AM)CurlyMo Wrote: [ -> ]Instead of closing XBMC, go inside XBMC to System --> Settings --> XBian

from XBMC GUI menu go to System>Settings>XBian at the bottom of the list on left