Forum

Full Version: Wifi dongle help
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi there,

I have this wifi dongle and I can't seem to get it working on XBian 1.0 Alpha 5. The dongle is connected to a powered usb hub.
I was looking through this thread and I am having similar problems to the OP. I am quite new to managing a Linux distro and I am not sure how the problem was actually resolved.

I can scan for networks and it finds my WPA2-secured network but I cannot connect to it.

Please can someone assist me?
What did you already try?
I have tried to configure the interface by setting it in the Xbian config on the dashboard, using iwconfig and by configuring it manually in the /etc/network/interface file.
I have now tried to manually copy over the kernel.img and the /lib/modules/3.6.11+ from https://github.com/xbianonpi/xbian into their respective directories and reboot but it does not seem to have solved the problem
Did you try the xbian-config when logging into the shell?
Yes, I did.
I upgraded to the newest version of Xbian, using kernel 3.6.11+ and it seems to have resolved the problem. Thanks for the help anyway.
(8th Mar, 2013 06:25 AM)CurlyMo Wrote: [ -> ]Did you try the xbian-config when logging into the shell?

I'm still struggling with this, please can you help. Sometimes it works and then just seems to stop working.

What has been happening today:
  • I use xbian-config from ssh and connect to a wpa encrypted network
  • I reboot to see if the network persists, it does
  • I reboot again (the network connection has been sketchy in the past), the network won't connect
  • when I try and scan using xbian-config, the screen goes white then takes me back to [scan] [custom]
  • I have tried rebooting, shutting down, unplugging the dongle but now I cannot reconnect