Forum

Full Version: Managing process priority.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
A few weeks ago I was asked to make little guide on CPU/IO priorities handling. I'm not an expert in the field so if you find something overly complex or incorrect (I will surely try to avoid the last) please tell me!
The idea behind this is fairly simple, have downloads running on background and whenever you must use xbmc make sure that it get's most of the kernel scheduler attention. I manage to do that by simply altering the process CPU and I/O(Input/Output) priority.

Introduction
The utilities Nice and Ionice manage the priority of a given process and its hard drive(I/O) priorities respectively.

Nice
CPU priorities are handled according to a number which defaults to 0 and whose values range from -20(Maximum priority) to 19(Minimum priority), a few system specific processes default to high priorities. You can see all of this using the top utility:
Terminal
xbian@Raspberry ~ $ top
top - 20:31:25 up 7 min, 1 user, load average: 1.21, 2.45, 1.37
Tasks: 90 total, 1 running, 89 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
%Cpu(s): 21.4 us, 6.8 sy, 5.2 ni, 66.3 id, 0.0 wa, 0.0 hi, 0.3 si, 0.0 st
KiB Mem: 382820 total, 319176 used, 63644 free, 32092 buffers
KiB Swap: 127996 total, 0 used, 127996 free, 124272 cached
PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
2483 xbian 20 -5 310m 45m 15m S 26.0 12.3 1:59.86 xbmc.bin
2856 xbian 20 0 6284 1464 1052 R 1.3 0.4 0:00.66 top
2213 sabnzbd 30 10 178m 11m 1864 S 1.0 3.2 0:04.03 SABnzbd.py
29 root 1 -19 0 0 0 S 0.7 0.0 0:01.85 VCHIQ-0
42 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0.3 0.0 0:09.95 mmcqd/0
2195 couchpot 30 10 114m 42m 5004 S 0.3 11.4 2:51.66 python
2383 sickbear 30 10 191m 25m 3496 S 0.3 6.9 0:17.63 python
2458 transmis 30 10 33496 3360 2440 S 0.3 0.9 0:02.01 transmission-da