Forum
[PROBLEM] Xbian - Shrinking Partitions - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Software (/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Configuration (/forum-17.html)
+--- Thread: [PROBLEM] Xbian - Shrinking Partitions (/thread-1089.html)

Xbian - Shrinking Partitions - kgoerbig - 10th Jul, 2013 09:28 AM

Hello.

This is my first posting, so be forgiving. =)

I have Xbian running on my Raspberry PI and setup just right, so I want to backup this guy. I'm no Linux newbie, as I've been using Ubuntu for years, so I went ahead and enabled root, changed the PW, and setup a simple script to run in cron to backup xbian using dd:

dd bs=4M if=/mnt/150GB/pi-os/backup/xbian-xbmc.img of=/dev/mmcblk0p2

My problem is xbian automatically resizes the partition to use the entire card. I don't want this, because then I end up with a 16GB dd image! I want to shrink the working xbian/xbmc portion to say a 4GB partition, so the dd image is around 4GB.

If I turn off my PI, and boot my laptop up with a gparted boot cd, and try to resize the xbian partition it fails. I've tried on multiple cards, so I don't think it's a card issue. Is there a way to disable re-sizing of the entire card in Xbian?

RE: Xbian - Shrinking Partitions - CurlyMo - 10th Jul, 2013 05:58 PM

Add noresizesd to the cmdline.txt.

Because there was yet no documentation what so ever on the XBian specific cmdline options, i made a (hopefully complete) wiki page on them: https://github.com/xbianonpi/xbian-package-initramfs/wiki/XBian-specific-cmdline.txt-options

RE: Xbian - Shrinking Partitions - mk01 - 15th Jul, 2013 06:12 AM

(10th Jul, 2013 09:28 AM)kgoerbig Wrote:  My problem is xbian automatically resizes the partition to use the entire card.

as already curly said "noresizesd". or, if rootfs (startup) partition in cmdline.txt is not the last one on sdcard, xbian will not resize as well.

(free space is not a partition and will be taken by resizing).

mk