Forum
Help with mce remote - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Hardware (/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Remotes and CEC support (/forum-26.html)
+--- Thread: Help with mce remote (/thread-1247.html)

Pages: 1 2

Help with mce remote - Dbbd - 18th Aug, 2013 02:08 AM

I am new to the pi. My first install on it was raspbian. Got the remote working quite easily, got me quite surprised, but not happy with xbmc on it. So now I try xbian.

It make me crazy, I can't get the remote working except the arrows and an enter key. I tried to irrecord a couple of buttons, but lirc just ignores my config file, arrows continue to work.

What bugs me most is Irw does not issue any output. As if lirc output socket is not the default.

What should I be looking for? How do I debug the lirc input chain? I guess that if irw would have shown me socket outputs, xbmc would work as well, how come irw does not show me anything, yet 5 keys do work with xbmc?

I'm using model b pi, with xbian 1.1 beta

Thanks,
Dan

Re: Help with mce remote - f1vefour - 18th Aug, 2013 02:42 AM

What is the specific IR module your using?

Post "dmesg" and "lsusb - v" to pastebin and provide links please.

Where are you adding your configuration changes?

RE: Help with mce remote - Dbbd - 18th Aug, 2013 03:20 AM

lsusb -v : here
dmesg: here

Not sure what configuration changes you refer to. I've played with hardware.conf and lirc.conf to try to get the mce usb remote to work just like it did on raspbian. I did not try to customize any keys yet.

Dan

RE: Help with mce remote - JeHaLi - 18th Aug, 2013 03:26 AM

That is just the reason that I moved to Raspbian.
This item (of the non-working buttons om the MCE emote) did not lead to an adequate solution on this forum.

RE: Help with mce remote - IriDium - 18th Aug, 2013 03:52 AM

(18th Aug, 2013 03:26 AM)JeHaLi Wrote:  That is just the reason that I moved to Raspbian.