Forum
Best way to run python script with Xbian? - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Community (/forum-5.html)
+--- Forum: Uncategorized (/forum-59.html)
+--- Thread: Best way to run python script with Xbian? (/thread-1329.html)

Best way to run python script with Xbian? - Skywatch - 7th Sep, 2013 07:22 PM

HI,

Probably a bit noobish, but what's the best/preferred way to run a python script at start up to run alongside xbian without prbolems?

I want to start looking into some hardware/automation stuff soon.

Skywatch.

RE: Best way to run python script with Xbian? - namtih - 7th Sep, 2013 07:59 PM

You could use "nano /etc/rc.local" to execute commands at startup of your Rpi for example.

RE: Best way to run python script with Xbian? - Markamc - 8th Sep, 2013 05:29 AM

I'm a noob....I used the upstart.conf route, /etc/init/ , it works for me for grabbing an event before xbmc does at start-up and can also respwan if necessary. Here is the one i wrote... uimapper.conf to exec the python code

http://markamc.cybaman.net/?p=50

hope it helps

mark

RE: Best way to run python script with Xbian? - mk01 - 8th Sep, 2013 06:46 AM

Yes, the best way would be to write upstart script /etc/init/my_python_script.conf

Code:
#!upstart

start on startup
stop on runlevel [06]

respawn

exec python /path/to/my/python/script.py

If it should run constantly, respawn will re-start the script if crashed (exited with return code different than 0).

If it is just task-like script (should be started - do something - and exit), remove "respawn" a put "task" instead.

It will be started with startup of XBian and depending whether it's "task" or not, it will remain running (check with "status my_python_script") or will just start, do the job and stop.

If the script is providing some output text, it can be found at /var/log/upstart/my_python_script.log .

RE: Best way to run python script with Xbian? - Skywatch - 13th Sep, 2013 07:37 PM