Forum
Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Hardware (/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Remotes and CEC support (/forum-26.html)
+--- Thread: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc (/thread-1363.html)

Pages: 1 2


Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - kometa_triatlon - 19th Sep, 2013 05:07 AM

Hi guys,

I have a Hama MCE remote (this one), which works almost perfectly out of the box.

However, there is a small issue that bothers me: the volume down button does not work, while the volume up does.

This tutorial was of little help for me. First, mode2 produces this:

Code:
mode2: could not get file information for /dev/lirc0
mode2: default_init(): No such file or directory

irw does not produce any output at all (the remote is working though)

When I stop lirc service, the remote still works, so I assume it works as a "generic USB device" (whatever does it mean...).

Could somebody tell me, how does the remote work and how I can control its mapping?

Thanks in advance.

lsusb output:
Code:
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9512 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 05a4:9881 Ortek Technology, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 014: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 001 Device 015: ID 1997:0409  
Bus 001 Device 016: ID 1058:0704 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. Passport External HDD

dmesg output
devices
lsusb -v


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - mk01 - 21st Sep, 2013 09:35 PM

you can try installing "ir-keytable" package.

with it you can load / replace the key map which kernel is using (when you disable lirc). you can also copy any from preinstalled maps and edit as you wish (the one key not working for you).


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - kometa_triatlon - 23rd Sep, 2013 01:37 AM

(21st Sep, 2013 09:35 PM)mk01 Wrote:  you can try installing "ir-keytable" package.

with it you can load / replace the key map which kernel is using (when you disable lirc). you can also copy any from preinstalled maps and edit as you wish (the one key not working for you).

Thanks! I found a lot of topic devoted to ir-keytable.
However, when running it, I got the message:

Code:
/sys/class/rc/: No such file or directory



RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - mk01 - 29th Sep, 2013 12:53 PM

/sys/class/rc will appear first when rc_core module is loaded - which is triggered by other higher level device related modules.

if you starts lirc (which 'almost' works for you), what modules gets loaded - use
Code:
lsmod
to see it? with the module loaded manually (but lirc not started), /sys/class/rc should be there and ir-keytable should be able to get and display some info.


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - kometa_triatlon - 1st Oct, 2013 05:45 AM

(29th Sep, 2013 12:53 PM)mk01 Wrote:  /sys/class/rc will appear first when rc_core module is loaded - which is triggered by other higher level device related modules.

if you starts lirc (which 'almost' works for you), what modules gets loaded - use
Code:
lsmod
to see it? with the module loaded manually (but lirc not started), /sys/class/rc should be there and ir-keytable should be able to get and display some info.

Here is the lsmod output:

Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
vfat                    8732  0
fat                    46390  1 vfat
frandom                 3892  4
fuse                   63488  3
loop                   14307  2
joydev                  8695  0
mousedev                9415  0
zram                    8779  1
btrfs                 823939  1
crc32c                  1257  1
libcrc32c                778  1 btrfs
zlib_inflate           14442  1 btrfs
zlib_deflate           20472  1 btrfs

It is the same when lirc is start or stopped. So, no rc_core there....


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - mk01 - 1st Oct, 2013 05:54 AM

modprobe mceusb …. ?


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - kometa_triatlon - 1st Oct, 2013 06:19 AM

(1st Oct, 2013 05:54 AM)mk01 Wrote:  modprobe mceusb …. ?

It does not know such a command Huh
apt-cache search modprobe does not give anything.
kmod and module-init-tools are installed...


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - mk01 - 1st Oct, 2013 06:22 AM

are you running it under root or with sudo ?

always forget to tell this. so

sudo modprobe mceusb

?


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - kometa_triatlon - 1st Oct, 2013 06:25 AM

(1st Oct, 2013 06:22 AM)mk01 Wrote:  are you running it under root or with sudo ?

always forget to tell this. so

sudo modprobe mceusb

?

Oh, now it works Smile
But the output is just empty.


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - mk01 - 1st Oct, 2013 06:27 AM

modprobe doesn't return anything. it just loads the module.

you can check with lsmod or again check dmesg output.

or even /sys/class/rc ??


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - kometa_triatlon - 1st Oct, 2013 06:35 AM

Oh, thanks, now I can see rc_core and /sys/class/rc

But when running ir-keytable I got the message:

Couldn't find any node at /sys/class/rc/rc*.


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - mk01 - 1st Oct, 2013 08:48 AM

ok and what about putting mceusb into /etc/modules and trying the old fashioned lirc way ?

I have the feel I won't be much more help there. As haven't had in my hands anything else as CEC. Will google a bit later.


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - kometa_triatlon - 2nd Oct, 2013 02:46 AM

(1st Oct, 2013 08:48 AM)mk01 Wrote:  ok and what about putting mceusb into /etc/modules and trying the old fashioned lirc way ?

I have the feel I won't be much more help there. As haven't had in my hands anything else as CEC. Will google a bit later.

I did that, both lirc_dev and mceusb modules are loaded after restart, but mode2 still causes the same error message, and irw just produce nothing.

I am just wondering, HOW does the remote work? In contrast to other users, who are trying to make it work, I am trying to break it Smile

I found smth here: MCE Remote, will try to repeat it.

I guess it works rather as a keyboard, not as IR remote. That is why lirc does not influence on it.


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - kometa_triatlon - 3rd Oct, 2013 05:11 AM

BTW, on RasPlex the volume down button works fine.
Maybe it is a problem with XBMC itself?


RE: Hama MCE Remote: does not care about lirc - mk01 - 3rd Oct, 2013 10:26 AM

Do you have the option "remote is sending key presses" turned on in XBMC ?