Forum
Newbie Here - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Software (/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Configuration (/forum-17.html)
+--- Thread: Newbie Here (/thread-1411.html)

Newbie Here - gaff - 27th Sep, 2013 01:55 AM

Hi I am a newbie at Xbian and Linux, I have just manged to install and got the Xbian to run on my newly acquired Raspberry Pi.

However I face a rather silly issue. I am unable to add videos, and hence unable to play them.

I managed to find my portable hard drive at "/media/Seagate......" and have added that location. I have tried with movie scrapper and without, but still unable to see any movies appearing.

I need help here. Hope someone will help a noob like me. Thanks!

Software
XBian version: XBian 1.0 Beta 1.1
XBMC version: (not sure)
Overclock settings: (no overclock) @700mhz

Hardware
Power supply rating: 5V 1.0A
RPi model (model A/B 256mb/512mb): Model B 512mb
SD card size and make/type: 2GB sandisk mircosd
Network (wireless or LAN): LAN
Connected devices (TV, USB, network storage, etc.): Seagate 1TB portable Hard Drive SRD00F1

Logile
Link to logfile(s): ~do not know how to get it

Problem description: I managed to find my portable hard drive at "/media/Seagate......" and have added that location. I have tried with movie scrapper and without, but still unable to see any movies appearing.

How to reproduce:

RE: Newbie Here - IriDium - 27th Sep, 2013 02:22 AM

Please read "Please read before you post" a link is in my signature.

You will need to ssh into your RPi and post the output of dmesg and df -h.

Also as root: start dbus; stop xbmc; start xbmc

and see if your disk drive is visible in Videos.

RE: Newbie Here - gaff - 27th Sep, 2013 02:41 AM

Hi, I need help in getting the log file. I am not exactly sure how to get to terminal. After SSH, I get into a configuration menu. and do not know how to get terminal

RE: Newbie Here - IriDium - 27th Sep, 2013 02:45 AM