Forum
[SOLVED] Plays no video except mkv files? - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Software (/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Kodi (/forum-18.html)
+--- Thread: [SOLVED] Plays no video except mkv files? (/thread-1832.html)

Plays no video except mkv files? - danielog - 1st Dec, 2013 12:10 AM

Hi guys! I'm a bit new to this so please forgive any blaring mishaps in the following description.

I've set up my new Rpi with Xbian and stream my library using upnp from a computer running PS3 Media Server on Win7. This server works beautifully on all other devices in the house (incl. PS3, Android phones, iOS phones, etc...). It shows up in the upnp devices list on Xbian and I can view all my files and play music. The problem is as follows: When I play video files -except for mkv files since they apparently require no transcoding- I only get audio and a thumbnail. I cannot seem to find anyone else with this particular problem on the forum, so I'm wondering if someone could help me out. Here's a more detailed description:

Software:
XBian version: 1.0 beta 2
XBMC version: Whatever is on that image
Overclock settings: None (tried allocating more memory, but turned it back down)

Hardware:
Power supply rating: 1A (Hama MO-12E)
RPi model: B
SD card size and make/type: Transcend Secure Digital 16GB SDHC class 10
Network (wireless or LAN): LAN
Connected devices (TV, USB, network storage, etc.): Logitech K400r wireless keyboard, D-Link DWA-125 USB Wi-Fi adaptor

Logfile:
Link to logfile: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=91742 (first relevant error at line 1164, I think)

Problem description:
Attempted video streaming from PS3 Media Server results only in audio and thumbnail, unless video is un-transcoded mkv. I have tried all transcoders available on PMS: MEncoder, FFmpeg, tsMuxeR, VLC Video. Same result every time (except with txMuxeR, which doesn't respond at all). No problem with music files.