Forum
Noob question, get a script running at boot - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Software (/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Configuration (/forum-17.html)
+--- Thread: Noob question, get a script running at boot (/thread-2345.html)

Pages: 1 2

Noob question, get a script running at boot - huibert - 13th Jun, 2014 08:40 AM

Hi guys and gals,

I'm new to Xbian, but not to linux/unix. I installed xbian on my raspberry pi model b 512mb and I have a question (probably one with a simple answer). I want to do this mod while running Xbian:

http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=30347&p=430009

My question is, how can I get the code mentioned in the link to run at startup to run my fan. I plan on doing some overclocking and I just like the idea of a fan on there.

Thanks everyone

RE: Noob question, get a script running at boot - CurlyMo - 13th Jun, 2014 04:13 PM

Simple question, Why?

RE: Noob question, get a script running at boot - huibert - 13th Jun, 2014 04:25 PM

(13th Jun, 2014 04:13 PM)CurlyMo Wrote:  Simple question, Why?

Because I really really like doing that sort of stuff, and some airflow is always better than none.

RE: Noob question, get a script running at boot - CurlyMo - 13th Jun, 2014 04:49 PM

I never heard someone overheat their Raspberry Pi Smile

RE: Noob question, get a script running at boot - huibert - 13th Jun, 2014 06:52 PM

(13th Jun, 2014 04:49 PM)CurlyMo Wrote:  I never heard someone overheat their Raspberry Pi Smile

It's more of a lifespan thing, but how can it be done?

RE: Noob question, get a script running at boot - CurlyMo - 13th Jun, 2014 07:23 PM

How, don't know. But i do know that any fan is useless. Cooling wise and lifespan wise.

RE: Noob question, get a script running at boot - Smultie - 13th Jun, 2014 07:52 PM

Great way to double the power usage though!

RE: Noob question, get a script running at boot - IriDium - 13th Jun, 2014 08:11 PM