Forum
Car & Network - thoughts... - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Hardware (/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Network (/forum-25.html)
+--- Thread: Car & Network - thoughts... (/thread-2533.html)

Car & Network - thoughts... - nickp - 25th Oct, 2014 03:30 AM

So I'm new to this XBMC/RPI thing, so forgive the not-very-well thought out questions...

So, I'm trying to put a video server into my wife's new car (Honda Odyssey) and trying to figure out the best way to do everything...

I'm trying to do everything low-power, and do not want any 100v devices, desktop routers, or anything else that is large in the car.

I have the RPI (B+) with a small UPS (http://www.piups.net/).
The PI boots up when power is supplied, and shuts down (gracefully) when power is removed.
So far, so good.

However, in order to control the PI, I need keyboard/mouse or a remote control.
I figured the easiest way to do that would be to use the iphone/android app (is there an RF remote control option?)
In order to use the iphone/android, and need to be on the same LAN as the RPI.

So, I need a network in the car.
I was thinking of doing this is two different ways, and wanted input on the best way to approach this.

Firstly, I could use an old MiFi type device in the car.
Pro's:
Very easy to setup.
XBIAN will see it as regular WiFi network, so easy to configure server.
Phones/Tablets will see it as a regular WiFi network, so easy to configure controllers.
Cons:
Don't know if MiFi will work without SIM (ie no service.)
Don't think MiFi can auto power on.
If MiFi is advertising network with no Internet, then all phones that connect to it will lose their internet connection for the entire time in the car (a bad thing - no email, etc.)
I might have to activate service on the MiFi to alleviate some of these issues, but do not know about the power on thing.

Secondly, I could turn the RPI into a router.