Forum
[PROBLEM] CEC (new to this..) - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Hardware (/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Remotes and CEC support (/forum-26.html)
+--- Thread: [PROBLEM] CEC (new to this..) (/thread-254.html)

CEC (new to this..) - anagram - 13th Jan, 2013 08:34 AM

Hi,

I'm very new to the Rpi. I've been reading around, tried raspbmc, openelec then xbian, and seems the late one suits me the best.
I manage to set it up, with network, and all, now I'm down to the remote.

I use a logitech 700 (WAF..), so I got myself a cheap IR receiver to use with the Rpi.
The receiver seems to be working, as with its remote, I can control xbmc. Though I can't seem to be using the harmony, for whatever reason. Configured it as Microsoft MCE 2nd Ed device, but it doesn't work.

Then I read about CEC. I'm not sure I understand all that it does, nor how it works.
I use the Rpi connected to a video projector Vivitek HD1085FD, which has CEC. In xbmc, there is a CEC item in the peripherics.

Though I don't know if it just is able to power up (like you power up a tv and the pi is powered through the CEC). I've read here and there that it seems some people managed to configure their remotes but I don't find how, and I don't find if it's possible to use the harmony to do it.

Anyone can enlighten me?

Thanks !
A.

RE: CEC (new to this..) - raspberry_pd - 13th Jan, 2013 11:23 PM

HDMI-CEC is effectively a single pin/wire in the HDMI cable spec that is dedicated to allowing HDMI devices to send control signals to each other.

For example, button events from a HDMI device's remote control can be relayed or sent to another HDMI device.

In your case, some button events from your projector's remote control may be passed on or relayed to the Raspi and XBMC, potentially allowing your to interact with XBMC without the need for a secondary remote control. With a bit of luck, you may want to list that expensive Harmony remote on eBay soon Smile