Forum
Crontab problem....?? - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Software (/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Configuration (/forum-17.html)
+--- Thread: Crontab problem....?? (/thread-3128.html)

Crontab problem....?? - Skywatch - 17th Sep, 2015 07:17 PM

I am new to cron and bash but have it set up and running on a raspbian pi, but the same approach won't work with Xbian.

If I execute the bash script from the CLI prompt ("sudo bash /home/pi/reboot.sh") it works! - But adding the following with crontab -e and nothing happens on a reboot.

What have I done wrong? Huh

Terminal

@reboot sudo bash /home/pi/reboot.sh

RE: Crontab problem....?? - CurlyMo - 17th Sep, 2015 07:46 PM

Always include full paths and leave the sudo. Cron is already ran as root.

RE: Crontab problem....?? - Skywatch - 17th Sep, 2015 08:18 PM

(17th Sep, 2015 07:46 PM)CurlyMo Wrote:  Always include full paths and leave the sudo. Cron is already ran as root.

Isn't /home/pi/reboot.sh a full path ? What is missing? Sad

RE: Crontab problem....?? - CurlyMo - 18th Sep, 2015 04:36 AM

bash isn't Wink

RE: Crontab problem....?? - Skywatch - 18th Sep, 2015 06:21 PM

Thanks for the pointer.....

Now i have....

Terminal

@reboot /usr/bin/python /home/pi/shutdown.py
@reboot /bin/bash /home/pi/reboot.sh

Still no joy.

Here are the contents of "reboot.sh"
Terminal

#! /bin/bash
#Script to send Cinema2 reboot alert.
sudo /usr/sbin/ssmtp my mail@my.domain.somewhere < /home/pi/reboot.txt

The "shutdown.py" (which I have not set up to send mail) sends an email with a complaint about GPIO import (posted separately on the forum as someone else had the same issue with no resolution), but "reboot.sh" doesn't seem to send an email at all. I did a lot of research to get this far and it works under Raspbian. Why won't it work with Xbain ??? What else do I need to learn?

RE: Crontab problem....?? - CurlyMo - 18th Sep, 2015 07:31 PM

What does the cron log say?