Forum
Install a new wifi adapter in XBian/Kodi - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Software (/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Installation (/forum-16.html)
+--- Thread: Install a new wifi adapter in XBian/Kodi (/thread-3210.html)

Install a new wifi adapter in XBian/Kodi - Zeror - 5th Nov, 2015 06:14 AM

Hi, im new to Xbian and i have question regarding wifi setup.

Software
XBian version: XBian_2015.10.25_rpi2
XBMC/Kodi version: don't know / latest??
Overclock settings: none

Hardware
Device type and model (e.g. Raspberry Pi Model A/B 256/512 MB, CuBox-i i4Pro, ...): Raspberry Pi 2 Model B 1GB
Power supply rating: dont know
SD card size and make/type: Sandisk 32GB
Network (Ethernet or wireless): Wireless
Connected devices (TV, USB, network storage, ...): HDMI (TV), USB (Rapoo Mouse), USB (Rapoo keyboard), USB (Linksys AC580 wifi adapter)

Problem description:
I've just bought a Raspberry Pi for Kodi. I installed the XBian Pi image and so far it's working great, but at the place i want to use Raspberry Pi/Kodi i don't have a networkcable. So i bought a wifi USB adapter i'd like to use, but i don't know how to install it. I got a Linksys AC580 wifi adapter.

How can i install it?

RE: Install a new wifi adapter in XBian/Kodi - StartledCat - 5th Nov, 2015 09:40 PM

In theory (assuming kodi is up and running and you can navigate to...) ...plug in the wifi adapter in a usb slot on the pi (not sure, but a restart may be required), in kodi from the main user interface, open System->Settings->Xbian....assuming that loads ok, click on System - the first entry is Network - this should show the standard link (eth0?) ...if you click on the up/down arrows next to this, you should be able to see your wireless wifi (possibly as wlan0)...this is the one you then need to supply a password for....click on the SSID entry and it should start scanning, then list the wireless connections available - select one and then set the password etc....