Forum
How to set up VNC connection? - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Software (/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Configuration (/forum-17.html)
+--- Thread: How to set up VNC connection? (/thread-3268.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4

How to set up VNC connection? - Harm Lammers - 31st Dec, 2015 10:40 PM

Hi All,

I'm new to XBian - I just installed it two days ago on a Raspberry Pi B+. Over HDMI everything works well (a bit slow, but I am considering to get myself a Raspberry Pi 2...) and I also got my HifiBerry DAC+ working. Now the next thing I would like to do is to make a VNC link from Windows, so I can access Kodi without having to turn the projector on to which the Raspberry Pi is connected. The problem is that I can't find any information on how to get such VNC link to work. According to the "What is XBian?" page on XBian.org VNC Server should be running out of the box, but when I try to connect (using UltraVNC viewer 1.2.0.9) I get a "Failed to connect to server" message. I have tried screen 0, screen 1 and port 1, all without success. So my question is: what should I do to get the VNC connection working?

Thanks,

Harm

RE: How to set up VNC connection? - CurlyMo - 2nd Jan, 2016 02:49 AM

You first need to manually start rpi-vncserver from the command line.

RE: How to set up VNC connection? - daharn - 10th Jun, 2016 09:42 PM

I would like to step in here and ask which client do you use to access the VNC server on the Windows (or Ubuntu Desktop) side?

I tried directvnc under Ubuntu but only got a distorted Kodi environment with wrong colormap and wrong resolution and couldn't find a way to fix this so far.

RE: How to set up VNC connection? - Nachteule - 10th Jun, 2016 10:32 PM

(10th Jun, 2016 09:42 PM)daharn Wrote:  I would like to step in here and ask which client do you use to access the VNC server on the Windows (or Ubuntu Desktop) side?