Forum
deCONZ (Raspbee/Conbee program) via VNC or X-forwarding - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Software (/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Additional Packages (/forum-22.html)
+--- Thread: deCONZ (Raspbee/Conbee program) via VNC or X-forwarding (/thread-4034.html)

deCONZ (Raspbee/Conbee program) via VNC or X-forwarding - walt - 11th Jun, 2019 02:47 PM

Hi all,

Still a Linux newbie here so please bear with me. My RPi 3B is running Xbian and is also used for some non-GUI stuff.

I’ve just purchased a Raspbee (https://www.dresden-elektronik.de/funktechnik/products/boards/development-boards/raspbee/description/?L=1) to venture into Zigbee territory. To configure the Raspbee, a program called deCONZ is used, and it’s one that requires a GUI.

I’ve tried to connect to the RPi from Windows 10 via VNC both with tightvnc-jviewer and RealVNC viewer, both of which show a desktop but it doesn’t respond to mouse or keyboard.

Further research (read: hours of googling and reading posts here) led me to try X-forwarding using Xming on the PC, but whatever I try (Linux newbie as I wrote, so I must have been trying the wrong things, and prio 1 is I don’t want to cripple Xbian) the result is always 'Cannot open display' (I’ve tried exporting DISPLAY and then using the same value in Xming, but again, I’m practically flying blind).

Any pointers you might be able to offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

walt

RE: deCONZ (Raspbee/Conbee program) via VNC or X-forwarding - Nachteule - 13th Jun, 2019 05:53 AM

(11th Jun, 2019 02:47 PM)walt Wrote:  Hi all,

Still a Linux newbie here so please bear with me. My RPi 3B is running Xbian and is also used for some non-GUI stuff.

I’ve just purchased a Raspbee (https://www.dresden-elektronik.de/funktechnik/products/boards/development-boards/raspbee/description/?L=1) to venture into Zigbee territory. To configure the Raspbee, a program called deCONZ is used, and it’s one that requires a GUI.