Forum
Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Hardware (/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Remotes and CEC support (/forum-26.html)
+--- Thread: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration (/thread-444.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - CurlyMo - 17th Feb, 2013 01:01 AM

It looks all good, but hard to debug from a distance. Are you sure your did make any mistake with windows/unicode characters.


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - wolfylee - 17th Feb, 2013 01:03 AM

No I copy and pasted locally and FTP'd across.


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - CurlyMo - 17th Feb, 2013 01:05 AM

Can you add a debug "echo" in the if clause that lirc should use in your case, so you know it's using the correct hardware.conf


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - wolfylee - 17th Feb, 2013 02:22 AM

Hi Mo,

Sorry mate I'm not sure what you mean..I don't know how to debug 'echo' and don't know where it would go Sad

My hardware.conf is here if it helps: http://pastebin.com/6ZumzNfr


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - CurlyMo - 17th Feb, 2013 02:29 AM

E.g.
Code:
if [ 1 -eq 0 ]; then
   echo "success"
else
   echo "failed"
fi

When you add a 'echo' to a condition it just prints "success" of "failed" (or whatever you like), so you know if a condition was met of not.


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - wolfylee - 17th Feb, 2013 02:50 AM

Thank Mo,

I have tried for the last 20 mins with your's and google's help to try to insert an echo into my hardware config but whatever I do is wrong - I restart lirc and get a complaint about an unexpected elif.

I don't know what I'm doing.


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - CurlyMo - 17th Feb, 2013 02:55 AM

Example (in the original hardware.conf as seen here https://raw.github.com/xbianonpi/xbian/xbian-alpha5/etc/lirc/hardware.conf) at line 43:
Code:
        if [ $(cat /proc/bus/input/devices | grep 'Media Center Ed.' | wc -l) -gt 0 ]; then
            echo "success"
            if [ $(cat /proc/bus/input/devices | grep -m 1 -A 4 'Media Center Ed.' | grep -o event[0-9] | sed -e 's/event//g') -eq 0 ]; then
If you see success, then lirc entered that if loop.


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - wolfylee - 17th Feb, 2013 03:34 AM

That's what I thought - it still returns with:

root@xbian:~# sudo /etc/init.d/lirc restart
: not found/lirc: 30: /etc/lirc/hardware.conf:
/etc/init.d/lirc: 42: /etc/lirc/hardware.conf: Syntax error: "elif" unexpected (expecting "then")

I have edited as you suggested:
Code:
if [ $(dmesg | grep lirc_rpi | wc -l) -gt 0 ]; then
        . /etc/lirc/hardware/lirc_rpi.conf
    elif [ $(dmesg | grep mceusb | wc -l) -gt 0 ]; then
        if [ $(cat /proc/bus/input/devices | grep 'Media Center Ed.' | wc -l) -gt 0 ]; then
echo "success"
if [ $(cat /proc/bus/input/devices | grep -m 1 -A 4 'Media Center Ed.' | grep -o event[0-9] | sed -e 's/event//g') -eq 0 ]; then



RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - CurlyMo - 17th Feb, 2013 03:39 AM

Did you used the original files?


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - wolfylee - 17th Feb, 2013 04:06 AM

(17th Feb, 2013 03:39 AM)CurlyMo Wrote:  Did you used the original files?

Yeah, every time I made a change that didn't work I reverted to my .orig backup


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - CurlyMo - 17th Feb, 2013 04:25 AM

Can you remove the whole lirc directory /etc/lirc/ and reinstall it:
Code:
apt-get install --reinstall xbian-package-lirc
and try again.


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - wolfylee - 17th Feb, 2013 04:28 AM

I did an rm -r on /etc/lirc and tried an apt-get but it doesn't like it:

root@xbian:~# apt-get install --reinstall xbian-package-lirc Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Reinstallation of xbian-package-lirc is not possible, it cannot be downloaded.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - CurlyMo - 17th Feb, 2013 05:08 AM

did you do an apt-get update before hand?


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - wolfylee - 17th Feb, 2013 07:09 AM

No, sorry. You are dealing with a Linux idiot here Smile

I've just done an update and it replaced the xbian-package-lirc 1.2. No joy though - has had no effect. There are still no number keys or even the play and pause keys now.

Is there any mileage in looking at the openelec backup I have? Which files would I look at?


RE: Microsoft MCE (1039) remote configuration - CurlyMo - 17th Feb, 2013 07:27 AM

What did the if condition check reveal (adding the echo's?)