Forum
SSH access issue - Printable Version

+- Forum (http://forum.xbian.org)
+-- Forum: Software (/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Installation (/forum-16.html)
+--- Thread: SSH access issue (/thread-754.html)

SSH access issue - Vascoe - 8th Apr, 2013 08:30 AM

Hi there, I'm quite new to all this so I hope I'm not missing something silly.

I'm trying to get xbian alpha 5 running and im running into issues that are already mentioned on these forums, the solutions require SSH access, which is where I'm having a problem.

I'm connecting via putty and using the login details in the faq but I just get access denied warning. I set it up as per:

http://xbian.org/getting-started/install-and-connect/

Power supply is up to spec and I've tried it on two different SD's and having the same issue. Does anyone have any suggestions?

RE: SSH access issue - Skywatch - 8th Apr, 2013 09:20 AM

Hi and welcome!

I'm new to this as well :-)
Firstly are you connecting via a router? If so check that the port you are using for ssh (default 22) isn't blocked.
Next try a different cable or test the ones you are using. Can you see the pi on your network?
Next are you really sure the pi has a valid ip address on your network? Can you confirm it from the main screen?
Where it says to enter the ip address in putty, try putting xbian@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx and see if that does it.

What are the 'issues' you are having? (you never know, it might be related)! ;-)

Hope that might help.

skywatch

ALso don't forget to log in with

User = xbian
password = reapberry

Skywatch

Opps....

Password = raspberry

sorry, it's late here!

S.

RE: SSH access issue - port092 - 11th Apr, 2013 11:06 AM

Hi,
Firstly, congratulations on a great distro. Installation was easy and flawless. Everything appears to be working as expected, and wifi connectivity is working.
However, I am also having an issue with logging in with SSH.