XBIAN + RetroPie
|
11th Oct, 2015, 07:30 AM
Post: #1
|
|||
|
|||
XBIAN + RetroPie
Hello boys and girls.
Today I had a free day and I decided to do some work relate to XBIAN. I like XBIAN and I have been using it for the last year and one of the things I like is that is snapy ... Few days back I bought myself an RPi2 and while I was browsing for optimal Media Center for it (I wanted to test something else, but I got back to XBIAN) I found the RetroPie ... The thought I had was - can't I have both? Today, as I said, I had the time to make it happen ... and I did it after few hours of work. The script is not foolproof and I have not tested all emulators ... and there are few small hitches, but I hope you can help me fix it. This is the base install script (it should prepare the system): Code: echo "Adding REPOS!" Here I get the first and second snag: I can't get the Collabora Public Key which forces me to use the --allow-unauthenticated. Second snag is when I try to install libcurl4-openssl-dev Terminal libcurl4-openssl-dev : Depends: libcurl3 (= 7.38.0-4+deb8u2) but 7.37.1-1 is to be installed After this is done - continue with RetroPie instructions (from here). I used the binary installation. Few hours later we have the working RetroPie ... now comes the hard part. We need to add the following: Code: , /bin/openvt, /usr/sbin/service to /etc/sudoers.d/xbian at the end of the line concerning xbian user. Now the script that makes the work with the dynamical switching between KODI and EmulatorStation (I used scrip from project called RetroSMC): Code: #!/bin/bash Here are the other snags: When I stop KODI my TV goes offline (KODI and CEC - I need to disable it but I can't find a way). And ... I don't know how to add the script to the skin I use ... preferably I want to add it next to shutdown button. Feel free to use this and please help me fix the issues and make it seamless (I will add videos tomorrow) There are few thing I need to do - I will add roms and BIOS to SAMBA share. And I have one more question - How can I create an IMG that has the free space striped out? |
|||
10th Feb, 2016, 09:34 PM
Post: #2
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
Did you manage to get this working? I've tried several times using your instructions and no go. Would you be willing to post a bare bones IMG with emulationstation already setup?
|
|||
11th Apr, 2016, 12:57 AM
Post: #3
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
Yeah it works.
I wold post such an image, but I don't know how to do it ... someone tried to explain it to me, but ... There are some changes with the last retropie 3.5 and it's easyer. Also I found that there is a change to be made in retropie. Basicly it works for me Here is a video preview (in Bulgarian but you could can see what works and what not and how) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEyn63gknmU |
|||
11th Apr, 2016, 01:43 AM
Post: #4
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie | |||
11th Apr, 2016, 09:02 AM
Post: #5
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
(11th Apr, 2016 01:43 AM)Nachteule Wrote:(11th Apr, 2016 12:57 AM)Lucifer Wrote: Yeah it works. Ah! This kind of image! I will have one in few days. |
|||
21st Apr, 2016, 02:34 AM
Post: #6
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
OK ... So I think this should be it.
All seems to work OK ... except sound. https://mega.nz/#!dskSkYwQ!bxVaStu7QcNwpuYly0q9QbxWpLV-mLRxT-ga0v_dEks |
|||
26th May, 2016, 12:08 PM
Post: #7
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
Thanks for the guide! I'm able to run RetroPie with latest XBIAN on a Raspberry 2.
The audio problem was solved, following this guide: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=147302&p=970041 But i have some kind of issue with the tty and virtual terminals. Running your script, after i select a game it doesnt lunch. The only way to play is to stop kodi (service xbmc stop), then log in in the tty1, and run emulationstation. Other way to run it, is running emulationstation from a ssh remote console. Any idea of what can be happening? Thanks in advance, Flavio. |
|||
9th Jan, 2017, 06:45 AM
Post: #8
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
Hi,
I'm new to this forum, using the current version of XBIAN (20161221-0) on a brand new Raspberry PI 3. So far, everything works like a charm, but unfortunately I am not able to install RetroPie. RetroArch and emulationstation refuse to install because of missing libraspberrypi-dev. When I try to install this package I get: Code: Package libraspberrypi-dev is not available, but is referred to by another package. Sorry if this is a stupid question but I've been googling for many hours without getting any clue how to fix this. Any hint will be highly appreciated. I've spent many hours on configuring XBIAN and would hate to have to switch to another distribution. |
|||
10th Jan, 2017, 02:04 AM
Post: #9
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
@Tozzi
(9th Jan, 2017 06:45 AM)Tozzi Wrote: Hi, Seems all files needed are in package xbian-package-firmware. I'll build new firmware package tonight which should fix this isssue |
|||
10th Jan, 2017, 07:36 AM
Post: #10
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
(10th Jan, 2017 02:04 AM)Nachteule Wrote: Seems all files needed are in package xbian-package-firmware. Thank you! There's an update showing up, however I can't install it (kept back). Trying to force it with apt-get dist-upgrade -y --force-yes broke my installation. Good thing I had a backup. Here's the full output: Code: Calculating upgrade... The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required: |
|||
10th Jan, 2017, 07:42 AM
Post: #11
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
No idea what you did before, but remember:
apt-get dist-upgrade should NEVER be used |
|||
10th Jan, 2017, 08:27 AM
Post: #12
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
(10th Jan, 2017 07:42 AM)Nachteule Wrote: No idea what you did before, but remember: I know... Still... the new package won't install. Not even on a fresh install of XBian_latest_rpi3. I've tried xbian-config first, of course, same thing, no joy. The following packages have been kept back: xbian-package-firmware 0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1 not upgraded. apt-get install xbian-package-firmware throws the same warning quoted in my previous post above. apt-get install xbian-package-firmware xbian-update shows: Code: xbian-update is already the newest version. Something's still not right there... |
|||
10th Jan, 2017, 08:47 AM
Post: #13
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
Ok, I see.
libraspberrypi-bin is already provided by xbian-update. My fault, sorry Fixed and new firmware package will be available soon |
|||
10th Jan, 2017, 08:52 AM
Post: #14
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie | |||
10th Jan, 2017, 11:11 AM
Post: #15
|
|||
|
|||
RE: XBIAN + RetroPie
I managed to update to the new version now, looks good.
Even got a new kernel now. But the problem persists. apt-get install libraspberrypi-dev reports (probably correctly): Code: Note, selecting 'xbian-package-firmware' instead of 'libraspberrypi-dev' Trying to install retroarch (from source or binary, doesn't matter) says however: Code: Did not find needed package(s): libraspberrypi-dev. I am trying to install them now. emulationstation throws this error: Code: Could not install package(s): libcurl4-openssl-dev. and if I try to install it, Code: The following packages have unmet dependencies: Basically same thing. I managed to install all the other dependencies, but these 2 still won't work. Seems to me like it's a retropie issue rather than an xbian one. I'll try and contact them; for now I'm afraid I'll have to give up... |
|||
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
|
Possibly Related Threads... | |||||
Thread: | Author | Replies | Views: | Last Post | |
[SOLVED] Xbian with working: Sopcast and XSopcast, Retropie and Rom Collection Browser | JuStAdsor | 4 | 15,757 |
14th May, 2014 06:47 AM Last Post: pvlietst |