Thank you for your donation


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
I am a noob, please help me!
25th Feb, 2016, 03:44 AM
Post: #1
I am a noob, please help me!
So basically, I am looking to make a multipurpose raspberry pi to use as a mp3 player and an emulator. I want to be able to control it via a usb retro-style controller, and my raspberry pi will be using this (https://www.hifiberry.com/product/hifiberry-dacplus-phone/) as a sound card. I was wondering if I would be able to do this using xbian, and how hard it would be. Preferably, I could use it as a sort of ipod shuffle, with no need for a screen. Will I able to swap it out between mp3 and emulator mode by using a different boot device easily? Any and all help is greatly appreciated, as I am a complete noob. Thank you!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26th Feb, 2016, 08:18 AM
Post: #2
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
Your link is to an empty cart.

Please read rules and do a search before you post! | FAQs | How to post log file? | Can't find an answer? Contact us.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26th Feb, 2016, 08:20 AM
Post: #3
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
Oops. Hold up a second.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26th Feb, 2016, 09:21 AM
Post: #4
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
Still wrong Tongue

Unfortunately I don't have any experience in your apps you want to run under XBian - but - XBian is based on a standard Debian Linux, so it should be possible to run all of them under XBian Shy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26th Feb, 2016, 09:22 AM
Post: #5
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
I would like to use xbian to run mp3's, nothing else.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26th Feb, 2016, 09:47 AM
Post: #6
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
Kodi is also able to play mp3's
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26th Feb, 2016, 11:46 AM
Post: #7
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
Ok. Will it be able to utilize the sound card I would like to use?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
27th Feb, 2016, 12:11 AM
Post: #8
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
Yes, it will.

I'm also using a Hifiberry sound card - this one https://www.hifiberry.com/ampplus/

For configuring your RPi see here https://www.hifiberry.com/guides/configuring-linux-3-18-x/
That's you have to do for getting Hifiberry sound running.

One additional note: If you want to use LIRC and Hifiberry at the same time, you have to reassign the LIRC I/O pins because Hifiberry and default LIRC configuration uses the same GPIO pins.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
27th Feb, 2016, 03:58 AM
Post: #9
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
Thank you!Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
27th Nov, 2016, 11:38 PM
Post: #10
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
Been running Openelec and OSMC for years the problem they have is studder with my HDhomerun on Comcast. Then I come across Xbian ! Live TV runs smooth !!!! butttttttt.....nfs file system seems to be not working. I can see my host drive and only get as far nfs/ and do not see any of my folders. Is there a setting Im not seeing to turn on ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
28th Nov, 2016, 03:01 AM
Post: #11
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
@Rickt1962
Not on client side.

Just tested, I can see and mount all shares of my main nfs server (debian 8) and servers in virtual machines (tested debian 8, openSUSE Leap 42.1, Ubuntu 14.04) from Kodi side.

Important:
Make sure that exported folders grants access to user:group xbian:xbian
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
28th Nov, 2016, 08:53 AM
Post: #12
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
(28th Nov, 2016 03:01 AM)Nachteule Wrote:  @Rickt1962
Not on client side.

Just tested, I can see and mount all shares of my main nfs server (debian 8) and servers in virtual machines (tested debian 8, openSUSE Leap 42.1, Ubuntu 14.04) from Kodi side.

Important:
Make sure that exported folders grants access to user:group xbian:xbian

I have OSMC and Openelec on the same network using other pi's and they see all the folders fine under nfs hummm The WD Cloud I am using is set wide open for nfs on my ethernet just scratching my head
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
28th Nov, 2016, 11:16 AM
Post: #13
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
Hmmm, strange

Is this NFS4 or NFS3?

Did you already tried to mount nfs shares manually?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
29th Nov, 2016, 07:04 AM
Post: #14
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
(28th Nov, 2016 11:16 AM)Nachteule Wrote:  Hmmm, strange

Is this NFS4 or NFS3?

Did you already tried to mount nfs shares manually?

I posted over at WD forum and someone posted they think its V3

Also yes I manually added nfs://10.0.0.60/nfs/XBMC

And when I go to that location when adding file location to scan movies in. No folders show up....And I have my movies all in genre folders ! LOL Im not typing every folder in LOL
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
29th Nov, 2016, 11:33 AM (This post was last modified: 29th Nov, 2016 11:44 AM by Nachteule.)
Post: #15
RE: I am a noob, please help me!
Sorry, IMO you have access rights issue. If you can mount share but don't see any content, rights in that folder are not correct

Please can you try following in ssh connection:

Terminal

sudo mount 10.0.0.60:/nfs/XBMC /mnt

ls -la /mnt/

sudo umount /mnt

and post output here
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: