Thank you for your donation


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
5th Apr, 2016, 07:59 PM
Post: #1
Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
Hi guys,

Im using xbian for a couple of months and im very happy, running also my Openhab stuff on it.
So, its getting time to test the new RPi3 with the config I have.

Newest 16.0 xbian installation.

I took my SD card with overclocking deactivated in xbian-config and test it with the Rpi3, works well!

So is it possible to update the Xbian environment to the new hardware seettings from the Pi 3 with xbian-config?
I use the preliminary setup with another SD card which is running fine with 1,2Ghz.
But then I ran in trouble to setup Java, openhab etc.
Burned some hours last night with that...

I'd like to avoid a new setup, because I took a lot of effort in installing java, openhab etc. stuff.

I'm happy to get some advice!
Cheers
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
5th Apr, 2016, 11:36 PM
Post: #2
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
(5th Apr, 2016 07:59 PM)howdy Wrote:  So is it possible to update the Xbian environment to the new hardware seettings from the Pi 3 with xbian-config?
what do you mean with "hardware settings"?
There is no difference between Rpi2 and Rpi3, only just a note: please leave your fingers from overclocking Smile

Quote:I use the preliminary setup with another SD card which is running fine with 1,2Ghz.
But then I ran in trouble to setup Java, openhab etc.
Burned some hours last night with that...

I'd like to avoid a new setup, because I took a lot of effort in installing java, openhab etc. stuff.

You already answered your question by yourself:

You took your Rpi2 card into Rpi3 and everything is working. So there is no need do do a fresh install. I did the same Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
6th Apr, 2016, 05:45 AM
Post: #3
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
Hi Nachteule,

but when I have a look in system profile in Kodi it says 900Mhz, in case of using my old sd card.
After updating it decreases to 600 Mhz.

I dont understand whats going on.

HuhSmile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
6th Apr, 2016, 06:04 AM
Post: #4
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
(6th Apr, 2016 05:45 AM)howdy Wrote:  but when I have a look in system profile in Kodi it says 900Mhz, in case of using my old sd card.
After updating it decreases to 600 Mhz.

If CPU is idle clock should be 600 MHz, otherwise 1.2 GHz
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
6th Apr, 2016, 08:10 AM
Post: #5
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
(6th Apr, 2016 06:04 AM)Nachteule Wrote:  
(6th Apr, 2016 05:45 AM)howdy Wrote:  but when I have a look in system profile in Kodi it says 900Mhz, in case of using my old sd card.
After updating it decreases to 600 Mhz.

If CPU is idle clock should be 600 MHz, otherwise 1.2 GHz

Ok, interesting. Do you know the difference compared to the preliminary build?
There are always 1,2Ghz shown in system profile.

It obviously has more power in using the Live tv addon Iptv simple client.
So its possible to switch Hd channels without crashing Kodi.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
6th Apr, 2016, 08:32 AM
Post: #6
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
Quote:Ok, interesting. Do you know the difference compared to the preliminary build?

Difference is only the kernel (package)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
6th Apr, 2016, 08:09 PM
Post: #7
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
(6th Apr, 2016 08:32 AM)Nachteule Wrote:  
Quote:Ok, interesting. Do you know the difference compared to the preliminary build?

Difference is only the kernel (package)

What's the current version?
Now i have 4.4.6+

But I see some power issues, when I boot, the rainbow box is showing up.
I will buy a new usb power supply with 2,5 A

So then perhaps I have 1,2Ghz possibility?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
6th Apr, 2016, 09:33 PM
Post: #8
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
Look at:

Terminal
sudo cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_max_freq
(Max frequency allowed)

Terminal
sudo cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_min_freq
(Idle frequency)

Terminal
sudo cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_cur_freq
(Current frequency)

So
Terminal
watch -n 1 cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq
will show the current frequency of CPU0

If you use
Terminal
top
and then press "1" it will show each CPU, so choose one that is under load.

If you want to force some CPU load, install stress.
Terminal
sudo apt-get install stress -y

and then run

Terminal
stress -c 1 - t 10
will stress CPU 0 for 10 seconds.

or

Terminal
stress -c 4 - t 10
will stress all CPUs for 10 seconds.

Please read before you post
How to post a log file

If you liked my help, click on "Thanks" to show your appreciation.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Apr, 2016, 12:32 AM
Post: #9
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
Thanks for help!

My request says in a Rpi3 with Kodi 16.1, Kernel 4.4.6

cpuinfo_max_freq: 900000
cpuinfo_min_freq: 600000
cpuinfo_cur_freq: 900000
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Apr, 2016, 12:39 AM (This post was last modified: 7th Apr, 2016 12:39 AM by Nachteule.)
Post: #10
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
@howdy

Please show me your /boot/config.txt
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Apr, 2016, 12:48 AM
Post: #11
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
#initramfs initramfs.gz 0x1000000
gpu_mem_1024=320
gpu_mem_512=144
gpu_mem_256=100
initial_turbo=3
hdmi_ignore_cec_init=1
disable_overscan=1
disable_splash=1
dtoverlay=lirc-rpi
decode_MPG2=xxx
arm_freq=900
core_freq=250
sdram_freq=450
over_voltage=0

This is the old setting from the Rpi2 still running.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Apr, 2016, 02:13 AM
Post: #12
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
No wonder that you're only getting 900MHz Smile

please remove (or comment them out)

Code:
arm_freq=900
core_freq=250
sdram_freq=450
over_voltage=0

and after reboot you'll get 1.2GHz
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Apr, 2016, 02:28 AM
Post: #13
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
Ah great! Big Grin
I will try
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Apr, 2016, 04:21 AM
Post: #14
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
Looks like someone changed the config from the normal xbian settings. The figures seem to suggest Raspbian "Moderate" settings without the overvolt.

Would it be possible in the upgrade to show a warning, something like smb.conf where it asks users if they want to use the current configuration or accept the defaults - might help in the future.

Please read before you post
How to post a log file

If you liked my help, click on "Thanks" to show your appreciation.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Apr, 2016, 05:51 AM
Post: #15
RE: Update Xbian Rpi2 to Rpi3 with xbian-config
Most guys (like me Tongue ) usually does not recognizing warnings and ignoring them
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies Views: Last Post
  xbian rpi3, latest image: udate error picard12 5 2,329 10th Sep, 2016 03:12 AM
Last Post: picard12
  Xbian Rpi3 install Ewoud Bakker 9 6,733 25th Mar, 2016 12:54 AM
Last Post: Nachteule
  [PROBLEM] Update questions and XBIAN config problems IngoVals 1 3,543 20th Aug, 2014 12:59 AM
Last Post: IriDium
  update failed for xbian-package-config min 3 4,671 1st Jun, 2014 03:10 AM
Last Post: IriDium

Forum Jump: