Thank you for your donation


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Kodi 17 “Krypton”
7th Jun, 2016, 05:22 AM
Post: #1
Kodi 17 “Krypton”
Hello,

is it possible to update xbian to v17.0 “Krypton” (alpha)?
I woud like to use the inputstream plugin Wink


Greetz,
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Jun, 2016, 07:16 AM (This post was last modified: 7th Jun, 2016 08:06 AM by Nachteule.)
Post: #2
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
Yes, it is Smile

You have to enable devel repo in file /etc/apt/sources.list.d/xbian.list and then run

Terminal

sudo apt-get update; sudo apt-get upgrade

inputstream plugin is currently only built for Rpi2/3
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
1st Jul, 2016, 08:51 AM
Post: #3
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
Hello,

I never enabled the "devel repo" but yesterday I did a apt-get update & upgrade and I was surprised that Kodi Krypton Alpha 2 was installed. Huh

Unfortunately, a few of my previously working addons are now not working. Mainly Youtube and Live TV (with tvheadend).

For youtube, the icon is there, but it just won't start when selected.

For tvheadend, I confirmed the service is running (web interface is working as usual when accessed from another computer). I just can't find how to enable the TV main icon in Kodi to access the guide & recordings. I remember in Kodi 16 that it came active by enabling the HTSP PVR client.

I had a hard time coming up with a working Rpi3 + Kodi 16 setup to my likings. I fear from initial impressions of Kodi 17 that the migration will be harder than expected. And I was fully satisfied with Kodi 16.

Was Krypton pushed to "official" updates? Is it possible to downgrade? I was planning on using the btrfs snapshot roll back to do that. Is it the recommended way?

By all means, let me know if I'm missing something important or if it should be smoother than this...

Thanks again for the good work!

Mathieu
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
1st Jul, 2016, 09:29 PM
Post: #4
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
(1st Jul, 2016 08:51 AM)mgouin Wrote:  I never enabled the "devel repo" but yesterday I did a apt-get update & upgrade and I was surprised that Kodi Krypton Alpha 2 was installed. Huh

You are confusing me. Krypton is only in devel repo

please show me output of

Terminal

sudo apt-cache policy xbian-package-xbmc

Quote:Unfortunately, a few of my previously working addons are now not working. Mainly Youtube and Live TV (with tvheadend).

For youtube, the icon is there, but it just won't start when selected.

For tvheadend, I confirmed the service is running (web interface is working as usual when accessed from another computer). I just can't find how to enable the TV main icon in Kodi to access the guide & recordings. I remember in Kodi 16 that it came active by enabling the HTSP PVR client.

I do not use Youtube, but TVheadend plugin works here

Quote:Was Krypton pushed to "official" updates? Is it possible to downgrade? I was planning on using the btrfs snapshot roll back to do that. Is it the recommended way?

It was NEVER put to stable or staging repo

You can install older package by issuing command

Terminal

sudo apt-get install xbian-package-xbmc=<version>

<version> is version # you get from apt-cache policy command, for example 16.1-1464413943
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
1st Jul, 2016, 09:53 PM
Post: #5
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
Hello,

Here is the output as requested:

Please note that I did a btrfs snapshot rollback. You will see in the output that my version points to 16, but clearly 17 is available...

That might be subject to another thread but I think there is a bug in the rollback command. I had to manually perform 3 rename to achieve the same result. Let me know how to report this.

Terminal
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-cache policy xbian-package-xbmc
[sudo] password for xbian:
xbian-package-xbmc:
Installed: 16.1-1461682700
Candidate: 17.0~ALPHA2-1465134676
Version table:
17.0~ALPHA2-1465134676 0
500 mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt/ devel/rpi2-jessie armhf Packages
16.1-1464413943 0
500 mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt/ stable/rpi2-jessie armhf Packages
16.1-1463962758 0
500 mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt/ stable/rpi2-jessie armhf Packages
16.1-1463948584 0
500 mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt/ stable/rpi2-jessie armhf Packages
16.1-1462731607 0
500 mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt/ devel/rpi2-jessie armhf Packages
*** 16.1-1461682700 0
500 mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt/ stable/rpi2-jessie armhf Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2nd Jul, 2016, 02:26 AM
Post: #6
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
You have devel repo enabled Exclamation

Terminal

17.0~ALPHA2-1465134676 0
500 mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt/ devel/rpi2-jessie armhf Packages

You can see, there is devel. Please check /etc/apt/sources.list.d/xbian.list
(or you can enable/disable staging and/or devel repo in XBian config GUI in section Update
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Jul, 2016, 05:54 AM
Post: #7
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
Thanks and sorry for the confusion, I really don't remember enabling devel...

Ok, so now I only enabled stable in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/xbian.list as you recommended.

While doing this, I found this page:
http://wiki.xbian.org/doku.php/repos

The content of my /etc/apt/sources.list is completely different from the wiki. The page could be old: Last modified: 2014/06/13

Can you share how it should look like?

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Jul, 2016, 07:45 AM
Post: #8
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
See here, first topic
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
7th Jul, 2016, 08:34 PM
Post: #9
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
I've been playing around with this and so far it is looking good.

Only points I can flag up are:
1) Settings -> Interface -> Control -> Configure attached controllers: Is greyed out (Works on LE)
2) Settings -> System -> Add-ons -> Running: Sometimes freezes XBian.

Please read before you post
How to post a log file

If you liked my help, click on "Thanks" to show your appreciation.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
8th Jul, 2016, 01:40 PM
Post: #10
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
(7th Jul, 2016 07:45 AM)Nachteule Wrote:  See here, first topic

@Nachteule, thanks for the link. However, I'm confused:

1st they recommend (for all platform):
Terminal
sudo -s
echo "deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt stable main" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/xbian.list

... which ends up to be:
Code:
deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt stable main

2nd they say it should look like (for Rpi3):
Code:
deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     stable   main    rpi2-jessie

So, should it be only "stable main", or "stable main rpi2-jessie" ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
8th Jul, 2016, 08:20 PM
Post: #11
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
Did you read first half completely?

The command sequence

Terminal

apt-get update; apt-get install --reinstall lsb-release xbian-package-repo; apt-get update

re-installs package xbian-package-repo, which is responsible for setting up /etc/apt/sources.list.d/xbian.list correctly
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10th Jul, 2016, 11:01 AM
Post: #12
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
(8th Jul, 2016 08:20 PM)Nachteule Wrote:  ...which is responsible for setting up /etc/apt/sources.list.d/xbian.list correctly

Sorry, my post was not clear. I did exactly as said:

Terminal
sudo -s
echo "deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt stable main" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/xbian.list
apt-get update; apt-get install --reinstall lsb-release xbian-package-repo; apt-get update

After that, my xbian.list looked like this:
Code:
deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     stable   main
### deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     staging   main    rpi2-jessie
### deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     devel   main    rpi2-jessie

But the page mentions it should look like this:
Code:
deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     stable   main    rpi2-jessie
### deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     staging   main    rpi2-jessie
### deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     devel   main    rpi2-jessie

Notice that "rpi2-jessie" is not in the stable line of my xbian.list.

That's why I was confused. I added manually "rpi2-jessie" but I was not sure... Not sure also if it was meant to be like this.

Thanks again for your help!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10th Jul, 2016, 08:10 PM
Post: #13
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
Ok, understood

Seems to be an issue. Have to investigate more. rpi2-jessie is absolutely needed in xbian.list
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11th Jul, 2016, 06:53 AM
Post: #14
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
(10th Jul, 2016 11:01 AM)mgouin Wrote:  
(8th Jul, 2016 08:20 PM)Nachteule Wrote:  ...which is responsible for setting up /etc/apt/sources.list.d/xbian.list correctly

Sorry, my post was not clear. I did exactly as said:

Terminal
sudo -s
echo "deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt stable main" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/xbian.list
apt-get update; apt-get install --reinstall lsb-release xbian-package-repo; apt-get update

After that, my xbian.list looked like this:
Code:
deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     stable   main
### deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     staging   main    rpi2-jessie
### deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     devel   main    rpi2-jessie

But the page mentions it should look like this:
Code:
deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     stable   main    rpi2-jessie
### deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     staging   main    rpi2-jessie
### deb mirror://apt.xbian.org/mirror.txt     devel   main    rpi2-jessie

Notice that "rpi2-jessie" is not in the stable line of my xbian.list.

That's why I was confused. I added manually "rpi2-jessie" but I was not sure... Not sure also if it was meant to be like this.

Thanks again for your help!

Fixed
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11th Jul, 2016, 09:42 AM
Post: #15
RE: Kodi 17 “Krypton”
Thanks a lot for the fix!

Regarding the issue I had with the btrfs rollback command not working, do you recommend I start a new thread for that?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: