Forum
  • Search
  • Member List
  • Calendar
Hello There, Guest! Login Register — Login with Facebook

[PROBLEM] /boot is not mounted automatically
Thank you for your donation

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
Problem: /boot is not mounted automatically
10th Aug, 2019, 06:56 AM
Post: #1
jakenl Offline
Registered
Posts: 97
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 6
/boot is not mounted automatically
the update process, whether using the GUI or the commandline didn't proceed, because of an error in line 11 of /etc/fstab
Code:
#
# Configured /etc/fstab for XBian system
#
none                  /run/user               tmpfs   noauto                                        0        0
none                  /run/shm                tmpfs   noauto                                        0        0
none                  /run/lock               tmpfs   noauto                                        0        0
/dev/root             /xbmc-backup            xbian   subvol=data/@,noatime,rw                      0        0
/dev/root             /home                   xbian   subvol=home/@,noatime,nobootwait,rw           0        0
/dev/root             /lib/modules            xbian   subvol=modules/@,noatime,nobootwait,rw        0        0
/dev/root             /                       xbian   noatime,nobootwait,rw                         0        0
UUID=4D28-F2B5        /boot                   xbian   xbian noatime,rw,private                      0        1
Secondly the update complained that the /boot partition is not available. This is a 'nice' match with the first complaint, since line 11 is about the /boot.
The etc/fstab is identical as before, except that line 11 was at first somewhere in the middle. I don't think that makes a difference.

When I issued the mount command manually, it mounted without issue and I was able to do the sudo apt-get upgrade
Code:
sudo mount UUID=4D28-F2B5 /boot
After a reboot, I can do a cd /boot, but find the folder empty, so it is not mounted again. How can this be? The UUID is correct, I checked that, plus the manual mount operation, using this UUID works as well.

Second, minor, issue is that, while reviewing the kodi.log, I find error lines for every single folder of one of my USB sticks with data that it can't be found:
Code:
2019-08-09 22:35:35.380 T:1587061472 WARNING: Process directory '/media/64GB_ULTRAF/Audio/' does not exist - skipping scan.
When the Kodi GUI is just loaded after the splash screen, I always see this usb-stick mount it's folders. all the data on it, all my audio, works just fine.

In a trial to overcome both problems, I added 'boot_delay=5' to my cmdline.txt to give some time for both USB-sticks to get to life. Unfortunately this doesn't help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10th Aug, 2019, 08:04 AM
Post: #2
Nachteule Offline
Administrator
******
Posts: 2,405
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 122
RE: /boot is not mounted automatically
To your first issue:

The entry seems to be garbaged:

Quote:UUID=4D28-F2B5 /boot xbian xbian noatime,rw,private 0 1

Please remove the 2nd "xbian " from /etc/fstab
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10th Aug, 2019, 08:07 PM
Post: #3
Nachteule Offline
Administrator
******
Posts: 2,405
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 122
RE: /boot is not mounted automatically
To your second minor issue:

i don't know what you want to achieve with the kernel parameter 'boot_delay=5', if I look into the kernel parameter documentation,

Code:
boot_delay=     Milliseconds to delay each printk during boot.
                        Values larger than 10 seconds (10000) are changed to
                        no delay (0).
                        Format: integer

this parameter really doesn't make any sense to me

If Kodi is working correctly despite the error message, you can safely ignore it, if not, you could use the user-run.sh script to explicitly wait until the media is mounted

See file /etc/default/xbmc and template of user-run.sh script is in /usr/local/share/doc/xbmc/user-run.sh

For example, this script could look like this:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

echo "-----------------------------------"
echo "$(date) $0 $@"
echo "-----------------------------------"

case $1 in

        preload)                # Invoked by /etc/init/xbmc-preload.conf
                case $2 in
                        start)
                                for i in 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10; do
                                        if mountpoint -q /media/64GB_ULTRAF/; then
                                                break
                                        fi
                                        sleep 1
                                done
                                ;;
                        stop)
                                # This should never happen
                                ;;
                esac
                ;;

        xbmc)                   # Invoked by /etc/init/xbmc.conf
                case $2 in
                        start)
                                ;;
                        stop)
                                ;;
                esac
                ;;
                
        screensaver)            # Invoked by /etc/init/xbmc-screensaver.conf
                case $2 in
                        start)
                                ;;
                        stop)
                                ;;
                esac
                ;;

esac

exit 0
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11th Aug, 2019, 01:21 AM
Post: #4
jakenl Offline
Registered
Posts: 97
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 6
RE: /boot is not mounted automatically
(10th Aug, 2019 08:04 AM)Nachteule Wrote:  To your first issue:

The entry seems to be garbaged:

Quote:UUID=4D28-F2B5 /boot xbian xbian noatime,rw,private 0 1

Please remove the 2nd "xbian " from /etc/fstab
Yes, this fixed it!

(10th Aug, 2019 08:07 PM)Nachteule Wrote:  To your second minor issue:

i don't know what you want to achieve with the kernel parameter 'boot_delay=5', if I look into the kernel parameter documentation,

Code:
boot_delay=     Milliseconds to delay each printk during boot.
                        Values larger than 10 seconds (10000) are changed to
                        no delay (0).
                        Format: integer

this parameter really doesn't make any sense to me
This delay is used to let HDD's spin up and also gives some time for USB drives to initialise.
I was not sure what was meant with the milliseconds, I checked multiple sites and I finally interpreted it as seconds. Anyway, I removed it now altogether.
Quote:If Kodi is working correctly despite the error message, you can safely ignore it, if not, you could use the user-run.sh script to explicitly wait until the media is mounted

See file /etc/default/xbmc and template of user-run.sh script is in /usr/local/share/doc/xbmc/user-run.sh

For example, this script could look like this:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

echo "-----------------------------------"
echo "$(date) $0 $@"
echo "-----------------------------------"

case $1 in

        preload)                # Invoked by /etc/init/xbmc-preload.conf
                case $2 in
                        start)
                                for i in 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10; do
                                        if mountpoint -q /media/64GB_ULTRAF/; then
                                                break
                                        fi
                                        sleep 1
                                done
                                ;;
                        stop)
                                # This should never happen
                                ;;
                esac
                ;;

        xbmc)                   # Invoked by /etc/init/xbmc.conf
                case $2 in
                        start)
                                ;;
                        stop)
                                ;;
                esac
                ;;
                
        screensaver)            # Invoked by /etc/init/xbmc-screensaver.conf
                case $2 in
                        start)
                                ;;
                        stop)
                                ;;
                esac
                ;;

esac

exit 0
I checked out both files and I see what it does. However, since it doesn't cause an issue (besides a long log file) I decided not to go for this 'hard coded' solution. Over time I will forget about this trick and when I change USB-sticks, I won't remember this anymore. Thanks for showing this approach!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12th Jan, 2020, 08:54 PM
Post: #5
rezasamir Offline
Registered
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2020
Reputation: 0
RE: /boot is not mounted automatically
I have the same issue ,
any suggestion?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12th Jan, 2020, 11:46 PM
Post: #6
Nachteule Offline
Administrator
******
Posts: 2,405
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 122
RE: /boot is not mounted automatically
(12th Jan, 2020 08:54 PM)rezasamir Wrote:  I have the same issue ,
any suggestion?

As long as you do not tell us what you have done or provide us with further information, you cannot be helped
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
Post Reply 


  • View a Printable Version
  • Send this Thread to a Friend
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

Current time: 9th May, 2025, 11:50 PM Powered By MyBB, © 2002-2025 MyBB Group.