Thank you for your donation


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
25th Mar, 2013, 06:03 PM
Post: #46
RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
Did you already try to add your thumb drive to the /etc/fstab as fixed mount?
Do you have another USB drive connected?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26th Mar, 2013, 12:08 AM
Post: #47
RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
(25th Mar, 2013 06:03 PM)namtih Wrote:  Did you already try to add your thumb drive to the /etc/fstab as fixed mount?
No. Will that fix it or is that a stab in the dark?
(25th Mar, 2013 06:03 PM)namtih Wrote:  Do you have another USB drive connected?
No, just the one.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26th Mar, 2013, 01:35 AM
Post: #48
RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
At least I don't have such problem you've described and this is something I remember what I did. So it could be worth a try. But if it's the solution, I don't know.
My fstab looks like this. So the line with sda2 could be interesting:
Code:
root@xbian ~ # more /etc/fstab
proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
/dev/mmcblk0p1  /boot           vfat    defaults,noatime,nodiratime,sync          0       0
/dev/sda2       /               ext4    defaults,noatime,nodiratime,async         0       0
UUID=DA205B73205B559B /mnt/hdd  ntfs-3g defaults,noatime,nodiratime,async,big_writes  0   0
/var/swapfile   swap            swap    defaults        0       0

I also disabled the automatic USB mount:
Terminal

nano /etc/usbmount/usbmount.conf
ENABLED=0

The final df looks like this:
Code:
root@xbian ~ # df
Filesystem      1K-blocks       Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs            7706072    1427368   6271952  19% /
/dev/root         7706072    1427368   6271952  19% /
devtmpfs           191340          0    191340   0% /dev
tmpfs               38284        336     37948   1% /run
tmpfs                5120          0      5120   0% /run/lock
tmpfs               76560          0     76560   0% /run/shm
/dev/mmcblk0p1      34662      10571     24091  31% /boot
/dev/sdb1      1953503968 1771504566 181999402  91% /mnt/hdd
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26th Mar, 2013, 06:06 AM
Post: #49
RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
Just my experience....

Sadly XBMC 12.1 runs worse than 12.0 in alpha5 for me.
I use xbmc mostly to stream series/movies off the internet via addons like xstream or icefilms.
So content is delivered by various filehosters, which work fine most the time with 12.0, skipping works etc.
In 12.1 I have many sound issues (crackling, stopping, strange noise, not working at all), these issues appear especially when skipping, but also during normal playback.
Only stopping the file and starting again from beginning helps, which doesn't make sense when the error occurs in the middle of something and skipping forward crashes sound again^^

This seems to be xbmc related, same behavior on latest openelec and raspbmc.
I guess the new playback/caching by Dom in 12.1 doesn't like http streaming or whatever.
Reverted back to 12.0 and all is working again.
Maybe helpful for other struggling or deciding whether to update 12.1 or not.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
26th Mar, 2013, 01:28 PM
Post: #50
RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
(26th Mar, 2013 01:35 AM)namtih Wrote:  At least I don't have such problem you've described and this is something I remember what I did. So it could be worth a try. But if it's the solution, I don't know.
My fstab looks like this. So the line with sda2 could be interesting:
(stuff deleted)
I also disabled the automatic USB mount:
(more stuff deleted)
Thanks! I changed fstab and disabled the automatic USB mount and xbmc now stays up. I haven't had a chance to test thoroughly (it's the bedroom HTPC and the wife is now sleeping) but I'll test later.

Doug
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
27th Mar, 2013, 01:50 PM
Post: #51
RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
27th Mar, 2013, 04:42 PM
Post: #52
Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
(27th Mar, 2013 01:50 PM)agent5150 Wrote:  What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.

How do you check the CPU usage ?

Please read rules and do a search before you post! . FAQs . How to post log file? . Looking for answers? Please start here
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
29th Mar, 2013, 12:15 PM
Post: #53
Re: RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
(27th Mar, 2013 04:42 PM)Koenkk Wrote:  
(27th Mar, 2013 01:50 PM)agent5150 Wrote:  What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.

How do you check the CPU usage ?

In settings/system info
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
29th Mar, 2013, 04:18 PM
Post: #54
RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
agent5150 datelest='1364523309' Wrote:  
(27th Mar, 2013 04:42 PM)Koenkk Wrote:  
(27th Mar, 2013 01:50 PM)agent5150 Wrote:  What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.

How do you check the CPU usage ?

In settings/system info

You should check CPU usage through ssh and top.

Please read rules and do a search before you post! | FAQs | How to post log file? | Can't find an answer? Contact us.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
29th Mar, 2013, 04:51 PM
Post: #55
Re: RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
(29th Mar, 2013 12:15 PM)agent5150 Wrote:  
(27th Mar, 2013 04:42 PM)Koenkk Wrote:  
(27th Mar, 2013 01:50 PM)agent5150 Wrote:  What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.

How do you check the CPU usage ?

In settings/system info

this is not a way to do so as it shows wrong.thats the reason why we removed this information from default skin,so the people are not get confused.
To check real CPU load do what is mentioned above like @f1vefour mentioned Wink

~~~~>>>Please always follow rules and read before you post<<<~~~~
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
30th Mar, 2013, 05:50 AM
Post: #56
RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
I have tried to upgrade to the new version from the latest alpha to 12.1 but I get "unable to locatie package xbian-package-xmbc every time

Terminal
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get update
urls... removed because of spam message from forum
Reading package lists... Done
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get upgrade -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages have been kept back:
libc-bin libc-dev-bin libc6 libc6-dev xbian-package-xbmc
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 5 not upgraded.
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get install xbian-package-xmbc -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package xbian-package-xmbc
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
30th Mar, 2013, 06:08 AM
Post: #57
RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
(30th Mar, 2013 05:50 AM)derkd Wrote:  I have tried to upgrade to the new version from the latest alpha to 12.1 but I get "unable to locatie package xbian-package-xmbc every time

Terminal
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get update
urls... removed because of spam message from forum
Reading package lists... Done
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get upgrade -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages have been kept back:
libc-bin libc-dev-bin libc6 libc6-dev xbian-package-xbmc
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 5 not upgraded.
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get install xbian-package-xmbc -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package xbian-package-xmbc

look here >>>

~~~~>>>Please always follow rules and read before you post<<<~~~~
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
31st Mar, 2013, 04:36 AM
Post: #58
RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
(29th Mar, 2013 04:18 PM)f1vefour Wrote:  
agent5150 datelest='1364523309' Wrote:  
(27th Mar, 2013 04:42 PM)Koenkk Wrote:  
(27th Mar, 2013 01:50 PM)agent5150 Wrote:  What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.

How do you check the CPU usage ?

In settings/system info

You should check CPU usage through ssh and top.
Ok, with ssh & top I see this:
Idle: (nothing playing).
%Cpu(s): 76.5 us, 13.6 sy, 5.8 ni, 3.4 id, 0.0 wa, 0.0 hi, 0.0 si, ,0.0 st
Playing 1080p mkv from samba mount:
%Cpu(s): 42.3 us, 17.8 sy, ,5.7 ni, 32.6 id, 0.3 wa, 0.0 hi, 19.7 si, 0.0 st

Is this right? why is the first value lower under load compared to idle ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
31st Mar, 2013, 02:22 PM
Post: #59
Re: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
The CPU usage for the MKV is because its mainly the GPU thats active.

The high CPU usage for XBMC is likely because you were not on the home screen.

Please read rules and do a search before you post! | FAQs | How to post log file? | Can't find an answer? Contact us.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
1st Apr, 2013, 03:31 AM
Post: #60
Re: RE: Official XBMC 12.1 (xbian-package-xbmc 2.1) discussion
(31st Mar, 2013 02:22 PM)f1vefour Wrote:  The CPU usage for the MKV is because its mainly the GPU thats active.

The high CPU usage for XBMC is likely because you were not on the home screen.

I was on home screen.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies Views: Last Post
  Official XBian 1.0 RC 2 Gotham (XBMC 13) thread IriDium 167 271,200 10th Sep, 2014 04:41 AM
Last Post: weezer
  Official XBMC 12.2 Thread Koenkk 118 246,337 4th Jul, 2013 09:11 AM
Last Post: mk01

Forum Jump: