Thank you for your donation


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
10th Jan, 2013, 11:54 PM
Post: #31
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
(7th Jan, 2013 09:57 AM)nvd Wrote:  
(7th Jan, 2013 02:49 AM)gagimorena Wrote:  LXDE with Alpha 4 doesn't start. Same result is with upgrade and with fresh installation. Does anybody have same problem?

I am having the same problem I am getting a 0 cannot open display error and a startpar: services returned failure lxde in the xorg log the only error that really pops up is this:
(EE) FBDEV(0): FBIOBLANK: Operation not permitted

Xserver works perfectly well with alpha 3

Same problem for me .. but looks like XBian ist not supposed to support LXDE at all: https://github.com/xbianonpi/xbian/issues/214#issuecomment-12094494

But since it worked in Alpha 3, I wonder what has changed ...

Cheers
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11th Jan, 2013, 12:07 AM
Post: #32
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
Some users state it's our new implementation of /etc/profile.d/hideoutput.sh

pilight - modular domotica solution
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
13th Jan, 2013, 09:07 PM
Post: #33
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
Another issue related to hideoutput.sh

In A4 when you add a new user and ssh in with the said user, you'll encounter the sudo password prompt (reported by solence, I just tested it)

This is due to the new implementation of /etc/profile.d/hideoutput.sh which checks if you are running on tty1 (xbmc I reckon) or a shell. In the else clause (the shell part) we got a few "sudo fbset" commands which invoke this behaviour.

I'm not sure what the behaviour is if you just comment that part out, but I guess it would be prudent to modify /etc/sudoers if this is really needed.

Add the following line to the end of your /etc/sudoers (usage of visudo command highly recommended)
ALL ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: /bin/fbset

There might be some security concerns with that, but if it's your home entertainment system thingie then I doubt modifying that will send your bank account credentials out.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
13th Jan, 2013, 09:40 PM
Post: #34
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
Can you report it at our git issues?

pilight - modular domotica solution
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
13th Jan, 2013, 10:20 PM
Post: #35
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
https://github.com/xbianonpi/xbian/issues/221
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
14th Jan, 2013, 06:37 AM
Post: #36
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
@CurlyMo, It's been a while but I have tried your changes. (Even on a new install) However for me they don't work. My ext. HDD is only found when I mount it in fstab.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
14th Jan, 2013, 06:58 AM
Post: #37
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
What was it about Smile

pilight - modular domotica solution
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
24th Jan, 2013, 03:13 AM
Post: #38
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
using xbian-config to change root password doesn't work
It says password succesfully changed through reboot can't use new password.
The same happens if you try to perform in terminal

root:/home/xbian# passwd
Enter new UNIX password:
Retype new UNIX password:
passwd: password updated successfully

try to login via SSH or WinSCP with new password and still Access Denied.
I have tried the simplest of password including 123456 and still access denied
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
24th Jan, 2013, 03:26 AM
Post: #39
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
I can't replicate your problem 'cause it works perfectly here.

pilight - modular domotica solution
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
30th Jan, 2013, 09:06 AM
Post: #40
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
same deal here. I am trying to copy my exported movie database onto the card so I can import it. I am using winscp and I can't copy anything with the xbian account.

I changed the root account pass using the config via ssh and when trying to use winscp it gives wrong password.

how is this working for other people?

(24th Jan, 2013 03:13 AM)millie Wrote:  using xbian-config to change root password doesn't work
It says password succesfully changed through reboot can't use new password.
The same happens if you try to perform in terminal

root:/home/xbian# passwd
Enter new UNIX password:
Retype new UNIX password:
passwd: password updated successfully

try to login via SSH or WinSCP with new password and still Access Denied.
I have tried the simplest of password including 123456 and still access denied
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
30th Jan, 2013, 09:34 AM
Post: #41
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
I still haven't got any problems. Did you guys use the SCP protocol instead of the SFTP?

pilight - modular domotica solution
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
30th Jan, 2013, 09:57 AM
Post: #42
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
(30th Jan, 2013 09:34 AM)CurlyMo Wrote:  I still haven't got any problems. Did you guys use the SCP protocol instead of the SFTP?

oh my, what a simple mistake to make. That solved it for me.

many thanks for the help
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
17th Feb, 2013, 08:13 AM
Post: #43
RE: XBian 1.0 Alpha 4 bugfixes
I get this black screen issue when I update my libraries ... I've got many movies and tv shows, and after some time updating I get a black screen ... I previously had automatic update on reboot ... had to remove it, as after some time It locked up ...

Now I just navigate via files ... no problems there ...

on alpha 3 I had no problems with this ...

already tried 2 different sd cards ... on both I had the problem
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: