25th Mar, 2013, 06:03 PM
26th Mar, 2013, 12:08 AM
26th Mar, 2013, 01:35 AM
At least I don't have such problem you've described and this is something I remember what I did. So it could be worth a try. But if it's the solution, I don't know.
My fstab looks like this. So the line with sda2 could be interesting:
I also disabled the automatic USB mount:
nano /etc/usbmount/usbmount.conf
ENABLED=0
The final df looks like this:
My fstab looks like this. So the line with sda2 could be interesting:
Code:
root@xbian ~ # more /etc/fstab
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/mmcblk0p1 /boot vfat defaults,noatime,nodiratime,sync 0 0
/dev/sda2 / ext4 defaults,noatime,nodiratime,async 0 0
UUID=DA205B73205B559B /mnt/hdd ntfs-3g defaults,noatime,nodiratime,async,big_writes 0 0
/var/swapfile swap swap defaults 0 0
I also disabled the automatic USB mount:
Terminal
nano /etc/usbmount/usbmount.conf
ENABLED=0
The final df looks like this:
Code:
root@xbian ~ # df
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs 7706072 1427368 6271952 19% /
/dev/root 7706072 1427368 6271952 19% /
devtmpfs 191340 0 191340 0% /dev
tmpfs 38284 336 37948 1% /run
tmpfs 5120 0 5120 0% /run/lock
tmpfs 76560 0 76560 0% /run/shm
/dev/mmcblk0p1 34662 10571 24091 31% /boot
/dev/sdb1 1953503968 1771504566 181999402 91% /mnt/hdd
26th Mar, 2013, 06:06 AM
Just my experience....
Sadly XBMC 12.1 runs worse than 12.0 in alpha5 for me.
I use xbmc mostly to stream series/movies off the internet via addons like xstream or icefilms.
So content is delivered by various filehosters, which work fine most the time with 12.0, skipping works etc.
In 12.1 I have many sound issues (crackling, stopping, strange noise, not working at all), these issues appear especially when skipping, but also during normal playback.
Only stopping the file and starting again from beginning helps, which doesn't make sense when the error occurs in the middle of something and skipping forward crashes sound again^^
This seems to be xbmc related, same behavior on latest openelec and raspbmc.
I guess the new playback/caching by Dom in 12.1 doesn't like http streaming or whatever.
Reverted back to 12.0 and all is working again.
Maybe helpful for other struggling or deciding whether to update 12.1 or not.
Sadly XBMC 12.1 runs worse than 12.0 in alpha5 for me.
I use xbmc mostly to stream series/movies off the internet via addons like xstream or icefilms.
So content is delivered by various filehosters, which work fine most the time with 12.0, skipping works etc.
In 12.1 I have many sound issues (crackling, stopping, strange noise, not working at all), these issues appear especially when skipping, but also during normal playback.
Only stopping the file and starting again from beginning helps, which doesn't make sense when the error occurs in the middle of something and skipping forward crashes sound again^^
This seems to be xbmc related, same behavior on latest openelec and raspbmc.
I guess the new playback/caching by Dom in 12.1 doesn't like http streaming or whatever.
Reverted back to 12.0 and all is working again.
Maybe helpful for other struggling or deciding whether to update 12.1 or not.
26th Mar, 2013, 01:28 PM
(26th Mar, 2013 01:35 AM)namtih Wrote: [ -> ]At least I don't have such problem you've described and this is something I remember what I did. So it could be worth a try. But if it's the solution, I don't know.Thanks! I changed fstab and disabled the automatic USB mount and xbmc now stays up. I haven't had a chance to test thoroughly (it's the bedroom HTPC and the wife is now sleeping) but I'll test later.
My fstab looks like this. So the line with sda2 could be interesting:
(stuff deleted)
I also disabled the automatic USB mount:
(more stuff deleted)
Doug
27th Mar, 2013, 01:50 PM
What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.
27th Mar, 2013, 04:42 PM
(27th Mar, 2013 01:50 PM)agent5150 Wrote: [ -> ]What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.
How do you check the CPU usage ?
29th Mar, 2013, 12:15 PM
29th Mar, 2013, 04:18 PM
agent5150 datelest='1364523309' Wrote: [ -> ](27th Mar, 2013 04:42 PM)Koenkk Wrote: [ -> ](27th Mar, 2013 01:50 PM)agent5150 Wrote: [ -> ]What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.
How do you check the CPU usage ?
In settings/system info
You should check CPU usage through ssh and top.
29th Mar, 2013, 04:51 PM
(29th Mar, 2013 12:15 PM)agent5150 Wrote: [ -> ](27th Mar, 2013 04:42 PM)Koenkk Wrote: [ -> ](27th Mar, 2013 01:50 PM)agent5150 Wrote: [ -> ]What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.
How do you check the CPU usage ?
In settings/system info
this is not a way to do so as it shows wrong.thats the reason why we removed this information from default skin,so the people are not get confused.
To check real CPU load do what is mentioned above like @f1vefour mentioned
30th Mar, 2013, 05:50 AM
I have tried to upgrade to the new version from the latest alpha to 12.1 but I get "unable to locatie package xbian-package-xmbc every time
Terminal
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get update
urls... removed because of spam message from forum
Reading package lists... Done
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get upgrade -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages have been kept back:
libc-bin libc-dev-bin libc6 libc6-dev xbian-package-xbmc
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 5 not upgraded.
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get install xbian-package-xmbc -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package xbian-package-xmbc
urls... removed because of spam message from forum
Reading package lists... Done
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get upgrade -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages have been kept back:
libc-bin libc-dev-bin libc6 libc6-dev xbian-package-xbmc
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 5 not upgraded.
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get install xbian-package-xmbc -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package xbian-package-xmbc
30th Mar, 2013, 06:08 AM
(30th Mar, 2013 05:50 AM)derkd Wrote: [ -> ]I have tried to upgrade to the new version from the latest alpha to 12.1 but I get "unable to locatie package xbian-package-xmbc every time
Terminalxbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get update
urls... removed because of spam message from forum
Reading package lists... Done
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get upgrade -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages have been kept back:
libc-bin libc-dev-bin libc6 libc6-dev xbian-package-xbmc
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 5 not upgraded.
xbian@xbian ~ $ sudo apt-get install xbian-package-xmbc -y
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package xbian-package-xmbc
look here >>>
31st Mar, 2013, 04:36 AM
(29th Mar, 2013 04:18 PM)f1vefour Wrote: [ -> ]Ok, with ssh & top I see this:agent5150 datelest='1364523309' Wrote: [ -> ](27th Mar, 2013 04:42 PM)Koenkk Wrote: [ -> ](27th Mar, 2013 01:50 PM)agent5150 Wrote: [ -> ]What's up with the high CPU usage..stays above 96% even when idle. Has it always been this way (and I never noticed it) or this is really abnormal.
How do you check the CPU usage ?
In settings/system info
You should check CPU usage through ssh and top.
Idle: (nothing playing).
%Cpu(s): 76.5 us, 13.6 sy, 5.8 ni, 3.4 id, 0.0 wa, 0.0 hi, 0.0 si, ,0.0 st
Playing 1080p mkv from samba mount:
%Cpu(s): 42.3 us, 17.8 sy, ,5.7 ni, 32.6 id, 0.3 wa, 0.0 hi, 19.7 si, 0.0 st
Is this right? why is the first value lower under load compared to idle ?
31st Mar, 2013, 02:22 PM
The CPU usage for the MKV is because its mainly the GPU thats active.
The high CPU usage for XBMC is likely because you were not on the home screen.
The high CPU usage for XBMC is likely because you were not on the home screen.
1st Apr, 2013, 03:31 AM
(31st Mar, 2013 02:22 PM)f1vefour Wrote: [ -> ]The CPU usage for the MKV is because its mainly the GPU thats active.
The high CPU usage for XBMC is likely because you were not on the home screen.
I was on home screen.